Playstation : Mortal Kombat Trilogy Reviews

Gas Gauge: 65
Gas Gauge 65
Below are user reviews of Mortal Kombat Trilogy and on the right are links to professionally written reviews. The summary of review scores shows the distribution of scores given by the professional reviewers for Mortal Kombat Trilogy. Column height indicates the number of reviews with a score within the range shown at the bottom of the column. Higher scores (columns further towards the right) are better.

Summary of Review Scores

Game Spot 86
Game FAQs
CVG 50
IGN 60

User Reviews (1 - 11 of 53)

Show these reviews first:

Highest Rated
Lowest Rated
Most Helpful
Least Helpful

Mortal Kombat to the maximum!

5 Rating: 5, Useful: 16 / 19
Date: November 12, 1999
Author: Amazon User

Newcomers will love it and old school die-hards will never settle for anything less again! Supurb graphics, the maximum choice of characters. (even multiple versions of the same character since they changed them between versions)

Old school rules

4 Rating: 4, Useful: 13 / 19
Date: July 09, 2000
Author: Amazon User

Before there was Tekken and Soul Blade and the rest of the current fighters there was Street Fighter and Mortal Kombat. Mortal Kombat was easily the best in terms of richness of the game. The characters moved fluidly, the voices were understandable, and there was blood. The series progressed nicely with great additions and secrets added every step of the way.

This title is a great, nostalgic look back at those times. Being able not only to play any of the characters from the first 3 games, but also as their different incarnations is huge. When the Genesis/Super Nintendo became obsolete I feared the loss of these games. But with their release on Playstation, especially in this title, I am happy. The game play is great and packed full of surprises. As far as 2D fighting games goes, this is the best and is better than many first generation 3D fighters. If you liked this in the arcade, you'll like it here. Granted, it has the usual translation problems with the buttons in the wrong places and more difficulty moving the stick, but you get those problems with any console game.

Good game; ...

3 Rating: 3, Useful: 8 / 13
Date: June 10, 2003
Author: Amazon User

I bought this game yesterday because I wanted the nostalga of mortal kombat. I was very unimpressed with MK:DA on XBOX so I bought this game. The store only had this game on Playstation and not N64 which I what I wish they had.

I took this game home dusted off my Playstation and popped this game in. Almost immediately I remembered how cheap and chessy these game can get. I had no problem getting to the bosses but once you get to Motaro and Shao Khan, the only way you can win is with luck and not skill. They both do the same chessy move over and over and over and over again, and there is nothing you can do about it. If you try to do a move, the computer's apparant pshychic ability counters your move before you even do it; very lame programming. They also added a throw to Shao Khan's already cheesy arsenal which makes him even more cheap. This game is better when playing other human players, ... It takes more luck than skill to beat this game. Another drawback is the slow loading times on Playstation. ... These slow loading times and also slow loading times during Shang Tsung's morphs's helped me remember why I hated playstation so much and stopped playing it in the first place.

Mortal Kombat Trilogy the bomb?

4 Rating: 4, Useful: 5 / 6
Date: June 24, 2001
Author: Amazon User

MKT is really a great game! It takes all of the best features from MK1-3 and translates them flawlessly onto the Playstation platform. This allows die-hard fans like me to play it without the Sega or SNES. However there are two glitches that kind of bother me. One is the fatalities. Sub-Zero's old rip of the head is cut out, and there is no ice grenade to name a few problems. The second is the difficulty level. No matter if you chose Easy and Novice for the tournament, the computer will tear you up in less than 30 seconds once you get up toward the end of the latter! Even if you are Kintaro, Shao Kahn will destroy you. I still haven't beat it. Other than that for [price], it is definently worth it. :)

A Sloan Bishop Review

4 Rating: 4, Useful: 5 / 7
Date: June 08, 2005
Author: Amazon User

MKT is all of the charactors from MK 1,2 and 3 with 3's story. If you like the old school games, you'll love this one.

*Features over 30 charactors.
*Has many fun codes and cheats.

*Very outdated graphics(that's a given).
*Very, VERY hard to beat.
*No secret charactors to unlock.

Best Fighting Game for PS1

5 Rating: 5, Useful: 4 / 5
Date: November 01, 2001
Author: Amazon User

This game rocks! I remember all the Mortal Kombat fighting games in arcades when I was in junior high. They were so awesome, the blood and those finishing moves are so cool! Then recently, I saw the Mortal Kombat movies on TV for the first time! They were so funny yet cool and brought back a lot of memories and got me all nostalgic. I decided I had to get this game. Then I realized that this game was out in 1996! That's 5 years ago! I searched all online stores but none have them and I dont want used ones either because they dont have the orginal cover and instruction. Then I called many stores trying to find this game but failed. So I gave up.... Then a month later I went back to this game shop that I previously checked and they had a used mint condition Mortal Kombat Trilogy with everything! I was excited and bought it immeditaly. (...) This game was so difficult to acquire but I guess I got lucky. If you can find this game then buy it for sures, period.

MK wraps up the 2D era pretty well

4 Rating: 4, Useful: 4 / 5
Date: November 01, 2004
Author: Amazon User

Mortal Kombat Trilogy was a great game. It, obviously compiles all of the first three MK games in one package and it's made even better with the one button fatalities, animalities, babalities, brutalities, and the friendships. I heard also, that you can also, for the first time play as my favorite charactar, Shao Kahn. The only problem, I feel I must warn you is that the game is as hard as Hell. This is pretty much the only problem with the 2D Mortal Kombat games. So, if you're in for a challange and you are a Mortal Kombat fan like I am, you might want to pick this up.

Mortal Kombat Trilogy ~ Sony Playstation

4 Rating: 4, Useful: 3 / 4
Date: August 21, 2003
Author: Amazon User

This game is da bomb!! Forget about Mortal Kombat Trilogy on the Nintendo 64. The Playstation version blows that one away! You get to pick more selectable fighters, including Goro, Kintaro, Motaro, Shao Kahn, Jax & Kung Lao from MK 2, and Raiden & Kano from MK 1. Plus, the sound fx and music are equivelant to the smash arcade hit. And speaking of the incredible soundtrack, you can even stick this disc into your CD player and actually listen to music from the game! In other words, MKT is both a video game and a music CD!!! Of course, this thing is loaded with plenty of blood and violence, but that should be a real treat for gore hounds. Diehard MK fans will definetly get their moneys worth. The options menu offers you some pretty cool stuff, including automatic combos! That's right, you can do combos simply by tapping one button! That rocks! The graphics & animation look pretty good for a 2-D game, and the controls and gameplay work together nicely. However, this game does have its cons. The game only has one cheat menu, which kind of s*cks. The one-button-fatalities mode messes up sometimes. The game itself freezes sometimes and you have to reset the game. If you have both a PS1 and a PS2, avoid playing this game on your PS2. Instead, play it on your PS1. This game messes up a lot when played on the PS2 console. I'm not sure why, but it plays good on the regular PS. All of the stage fatalities are here except for the Pit 2 fatality, but I can do without it. The bosses are incredibly hard to beat, unless you play as one of the bosses yourself. You can beat Shao Kahn best with Noob Saibot by shooting your ring at him and doing combos on him. The bosses don't have fatalities, but they sure are tough. The storyline on this game s*cks and doesn't go into detail like MK3 did. However, each character has their original tournament outcome when you beat the game, which is cool. Other than that, this game is still da bomb! Straight & simple. If you're a diehard blood-thirsty MK fan, then get this freakin' game now. Otherwise, steer clear.

Best game ever!

5 Rating: 5, Useful: 3 / 5
Date: April 20, 2001
Author: Amazon User

I have a LOT of history with MK. It was my first game (not really, but the first game I really got into) and I remember playing all three installments until I got blisters in my thumbs. I remember seeing the movie on opening, then being letdown by the sequel. I remember the failings of Mythologies and Special Forces, but most of all I remember this game. MK 1-4 are the best MK games,and while this doesn't sport the flashiness of Mk4, it's better because of the nostalgia and the characters. I mean, the gameplay is awesome-turn on the blood, turn on the option where you get your life back, put it in 2 on 2 mode, and turn on the four round matches, and you got 20-30 minute galas with four characters. This would be a load of memories if it didn't play well-however, it plays great. However, being spoiled to the SNES fast loading, when you're totally pumped, the loading in between matches can be a little much. HOWEVER-(and this is a big HOWEVER) this game can't play on PS2! Dang! Why not? It would totally speed it up, crisp the graphics a little, and plus I wouldn't have to have to hook my old PS whenever I wanna play this. Thankfully, MK5 is on the way. This can't tarnish the greatest fighting game ever (only Tekken can come close to it's awesomeness) and can't tarnish it's great memories. From the creepy announcer guy, the font of MORTAL KOMBAT with the little dragon, from the music, from the characters, to Goro in all his glory, MKT is the greatest game EVER.

Absolutely horrid one player game

2 Rating: 2, Useful: 3 / 6
Date: March 17, 2002
Author: Amazon User

I don't know how people are rating this game so highly. I am a huge MK fan, but this game defines why I try to forget that MK3 and UMK3 came into existence. This is an absolutely horribly programmed one player game. The computer controlled players anticipate and counter every single move you do even on very easy! You have to pick Motaro just to make it to the end, and then who had the brilliant idea of giving Shao Kahn a throw-there goes the one way you could beat him with most players. Avalance software must have spent one day configuring the AI for this stinker. Then, to make matters worse, the Playstation D-pad controls like a tuna boat in a boat race. Good luck not breaking your controller as you watch your character get decimated and wonder why the move you tapped in did not work, over and over again. Then after I finally beat the game with Scorpion, the machine crashed twice so who knows if he has an ending or not.
The only reason I gave it two stars, is that with two people you do get an almost arcade perfect MK experience, but you still deal with the absolutely ridiculous characters of MK3 and UMK3 and all its palette swaps. My advice is to turn off aggressor mode as well as all of those cheap auto combos and pretend you are playing MKII with some extra backgrounds.

Review Page: 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next