SNES : Mortal Kombat 2 Reviews

Below are user reviews of Mortal Kombat 2 and on the right are links to professionally written reviews. The summary of review scores shows the distribution of scores given by the professional reviewers for Mortal Kombat 2. Column height indicates the number of reviews with a score within the range shown at the bottom of the column. Higher scores (columns further towards the right) are better.

Game Spot
Game FAQs

User Reviews (1 - 11 of 14)

Show these reviews first:

Highest Rated
Lowest Rated
Most Helpful
Least Helpful

A pretty good fighting game, at least for its time...

4 Rating: 4, Useful: 4 / 4
Date: October 28, 2001
Author: Amazon User

When Midway released the first Mortal Kombat to the arcades back in 1992, they probably never thought of doing a sequel. But the game was very well received. For the first time digitized actors replaced hand-drawn fighters, the action looked very realistic and most of all, it took violence in a video game to a standard that had never been reached before. It all lead to the inevitable release of Mortal Kombat II, which is widely considered the best and most original of the series.

The SNES version is probably the best home conversion available. Everything from the arcade version is included, from blood and gore to fatalities and hidden characters. The story behind the game is fresh. At the end of the first tournament, Liu Kang has managed to defeat Shang Tsung and banish him to the "Outworld".
Tsung's master, Shao Kahn, has restored Tsung's youth in exchange for a plan to lure the earth warriors to a tournament held in the Outworld itself. This tournament is none other than Mortal Kombat II.

MK2 introduces a host of new kombatants including Kung Lao, Jax, Kitana, Mileena, Baraka and the now playable Reptile and Shang Tsung. The original fighters return, minus Sonya and Kano. Each fighter has at least two fatalities, plus a friendship and a babality! The old guys have been polished up a bit and given some new moves to match them with the new ones. There are two brand new bosses. The first is Kintaro, who is of the same clan of creatures as Goro from the original, but is far more powerful. The second is Shao Kahn, who's insults are his own downfall.

What the MK series is really known for is the finishing moves, and MK2 manages to satisfy any lust you would have for blood! These make MK1 look tame! Especially violent are Johnny Cage's torso rip, Jax's arm rip and face smash and Baraka's blade lift. New to the series are Friendships (in which the winner shows his friendship towards the loser) and babalities (in which the loser is turned into an infant). Three new stage fatalities are present as well! Two brand new secret characters are present and will appear during the game giving various clues. They are of course, Smoke and Jade. Unfortunately you can't play as them, but only fight them.

A noticable weakness of the game is the irritating scratching sound that almost always appears when something is announced. The music is also not much in the quality department, but then again, Mortal Kombat was never known for its music. The visuals were pretty amazing for it's time, but will hardly impress anyone today. Controls, though responsive are a bit awkward. The characters tend to slide too much.

Anyway after all these years, it can still be quite addicting. SNES owners looking for worthy fighting games should pick this up. You might also want to try MK3 (but not Ultimate MK3 please...). If you are a fan of Mortal Kombat 4, then you will undoubtedly enjoy this. For the ultimate in SNES fighting games however, consider Street Fighter II Turbo: Hyper Fighting.

The series in its prime

5 Rating: 5, Useful: 3 / 3
Date: June 27, 2006
Author: Amazon User

Mortal Kombat II is widely held as the best installment of the bloody fighting series. Graphics and sound have been given a nice upgrade since the first installment, and controls are tight and responsive. The game walks a fine line between dreary, violent gore (ripping torsos apart, cutting people in half, impaling them, etc) and light humour (Friendship moves, Babalities). Too much of the latter turned the next installment of the franchise into self-parody, but it's kept in check here. The game features one of the most memorable roster of fighters since the original Street Fighter II, and gameplay is loose enough to let players develop their own combos. Finally, lots of secret characters and easter eggs await those who search hard enough.

The SNES version is definitely superior to the Genesis port this go-around, with all of the gore intact and presentation true to the arcade. Still one of the best conversions of Mortal Kombat II. If you own an SNES and still don't have this gem, get it.

The best SNES Mortal Kombat

5 Rating: 5, Useful: 3 / 3
Date: October 11, 2002
Author: Amazon User

Mortal Kombat II, it sounds so funny to talk about this game now as the next installment of this game is coming out (MORTAL KOMBAT : Deadly Alliance). But let's say it, Mortal Kombat II was a perfect home version of the Arcade Hit and from then on, it proved to be that if Mortal Kombat was going to do well on any home systems, it had to be clear, un-cut, un-censored unlike Mortal Kombat and it had to play just like it did in the arcade.

That and this was the last Mortal Kombat to be some-what serious before it became a fighting Cartoon in Mortal Kombat 3 and Ultimate Mortal Kombat 3.

Honestly, I still play this every now and then. It takes me a little while to get back the information of the game because it's been that long (LOL). But it's still worth it to just do that.

I say this a lot, but this was another game (in the history of games) that a person needed to get to complete a collection. Personally, I skipped the SNES version of the original Mortal Kombat and went straight to Mortal Kombat II because it was un-cut.

If you still have your SNES, and you don't have Mortal Kombat II, you have to get it. After all, you might regret it later when the only time you can find any decent games are at Flea Markets and Garage Sales and for me as a collector of some of the "old school" game systems and games, I despise rummaging through piles of junk just to find that needle in the hay stack. Why go through all that trouble when you can do your collecting here?

i would give it 50 stars if i could

5 Rating: 5, Useful: 2 / 2
Date: May 07, 2005
Author: Amazon User

mortal kombat II is one of the undisputed classics in the pantheon of fighting games. even better than the original, MKII for the super nes was one of the best ports of any arcade game ever, especially for a 16-bit system. the sounds, graphics, and frame rate are excellent translations from the arcade version. nintendo had the common sense to bite the bullet and include all of the blood and gore that made the genesis version of mortal kombat outsell the super nes version by a long shot. this change combined the with the super nes's superior processing power and graphical/color capabilities but the nintendo port of this game heads and shoulders above the awful genesis version. the gore in this game is excellent: when someone explodes you can actually pick out the individual body parts. the fatalities in this game are undoubtedly the best and most creative of the series while the friendships and babalities are an interesting addition that truly marked the peak of the franchise before williams took over and the mediocre MK 3 came out.

mortal kombat II also marks a watershed moment in console gaming history, as the release of this game coincided with the first true surge in research over whether violent games fueled violent behavior in youths. the eventual console release was much lauded in all the gaming magazines and was promotional efforts were literally all over the place. i had loved the arcade version and this development made me await the home release even more impatiently, as i could tell my $10/week addiction was about to be made available 24/7. being about 9 when this game first hit consoles, my parents of course deemed it too violent for me to have access to all the time and i was relegated to renting it once a week. that became a problem eventually, as all of the rental stores in my area would frequently have their entire inventories of the game rented out the minute they became available and many copies were never returned! in those ancient pre-internet days, i remember scouring every game magazine i could get my hands on in order to access the various fatalities and special moves to be found in the game. i'd recommend buying not only this game but midway arcade classics volume 2 as well. it contains a perfect arcade rendering of MKII and MK3 and it finally renders the super nes version obsolete after its 10 year reign.

Bloody Brilliant

5 Rating: 5, Useful: 1 / 1
Date: January 30, 2003
Author: Amazon User

This video game is a classic among any who has ever played it; which probably includes everyone except those unfortunate children whose parents are too strict to allow them the experience. I remember playing Mortal Kombat at a friend's house and thinking, "This is the coolest game ever!" I didn't get a SNES until the price went down and everyone wanted a Sega Genesis because it had better attachments (i.e. 32X & Sega CD). MKII was of the first games my brother and I made an alliance and saved our allowances to buy. We went to the local library to copy down the moves and fatalities from their copies of GamePro and Nintendo Magazine. We used to sneak down stairs after bedtime to play MKII. Of course, we would get into a fight and wake up our parents and get into trouble, but that didn't stop us from doing it week after week. This movie is a definite classic of the fighting genre. This is a `must-own' for any video game junky. Five out of five stars.

A Great Conversion

5 Rating: 5, Useful: 1 / 1
Date: July 09, 2005
Author: Amazon User

Very little differs between the arcade version of MK2 and the Super NES version. You really can't ask for something better out of a game converted from a cabinet to a 16 bit system.

MK2 is probably the strongest game out of the whole MK series. It has plenty of fatalities, friendships, etc, but not so many that there's an endless list of button presses to memorize. It has great graphics and great characters, my favorites being Baraka and Kung Lao. It's just as fun to watch as it is to play. Like all MK games though, it's challenging as all heck. Don't waste too much of your life on this game, but play it on the easiest difficulty and be sure to look up fatalities online. Try to buy it cheap somewhere. It's a good game.

It has Begun.

5 Rating: 5, Useful: 1 / 1
Date: May 11, 2006
Author: Amazon User

MK 2 Rocks, this is a really fun game, and it's better than the first. there are new characters and returning characters. And ther is new fatalities. This is one game you gotta play.

If you liked this game check out all of the Mortal Kombat games, Movies, Books & cd's

Frustrating, but still fun.

4 Rating: 4, Useful: 0 / 2
Date: March 23, 2005
Author: Amazon User

A very enjoyable fighter for the Super NES. For 1994, this game looks sharp, with detailed character models and cool backrounds. The music and the sound effects are just okay; a bit on the repetitive side for me.

Mortal Kombat II's gameplay is much like Street Fighter's. A 2D fighter, you move with directional pad and push the triggers to block, while the action buttons make an attack. The special moves, while a bit hard to pull off, are very rewarding, and the fatalities are, well, delicious.

With only 12 playable characters (with a couple of hidden ones!) and the lack of a decent save/password feature, this title lacks some decent replay value, but this is still a fine entry in the MK series, and is well worth your money.

Mortal Kombat 2

4 Rating: 4, Useful: 0 / 0
Date: July 24, 2001
Author: Amazon User

Mortal Kombat 2 is one of the best games of its time. If the fighting skills aren't enough, the stories behind each character will make you want to find out more. It'll make you wonder what it would be like if the world of Mortal Kombat was real.

Best of the SNES mortal kombat series!

5 Rating: 5, Useful: 0 / 0
Date: September 28, 2002
Author: Amazon User

A year ago, I bought this game cheap. I loved it. Mortal Kombat 2 has all the good graphics, fatalities, and more characters on the SNES version. Newcomers like Baraka, Jax, Kung Lao and many more are what make a sequel game more fun to play. There are also new bosses such as the emperor Shao Kahn and the huge four-armed Kintaro. Also, the hidden character, Reptile and Shang Tsung that were found on the first Mortal Kombat are now playable! They also included new finishing moves which are Friendships and Babalities! What can I say? This is simply the best Mortal Kombat game on the SNES!

Review Page: 1 2 Next