Playstation 2 : Karaoke Revolution Volume 3 Reviews

Gas Gauge: 81
Gas Gauge 81
Below are user reviews of Karaoke Revolution Volume 3 and on the right are links to professionally written reviews. The summary of review scores shows the distribution of scores given by the professional reviewers for Karaoke Revolution Volume 3. Column height indicates the number of reviews with a score within the range shown at the bottom of the column. Higher scores (columns further towards the right) are better.

Summary of Review Scores

Game Spot 75
GameZone 87
Game Revolution 75
1UP 90

User Reviews (1 - 11 of 47)

Show these reviews first:

Highest Rated
Lowest Rated
Most Helpful
Least Helpful

Our Favorite Playstation 2 Game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

5 Rating: 5, Useful: 169 / 172
Date: January 01, 2005
Author: Amazon User

All of the songs on Volume 3 are kid-friendly. That is a huge plus and, in my opinion, the first of 3 volumes with this feature. One thing that is really fun about this game is that we play with our 9 and 11-year-old, and we are in our early 30s. This game gives us the opportunity to get to know songs that we wouldn't normally know. For example, I listened to "Beat It" when I was 9 years old, and now our 9-year-old son can enjoy it.

The songs were recorded as close to the sound that the original artists made as possible, and they did a great job with that. The vocals to "I Got You Babe," "New York New York," and "Twist and Shout" didn't really sound like the original artists but who cares. We were singing over their voices.

The songs to choose from for karaoke competition are as follows:
(All songs below are "originally by" the artists in parenthesis):

1) ABC (Jackson 5)
2) Ain't No Mountain High Enough (The Temptations)
3) Beat It (Michael Jackson)
4) Burn (Usher)
5) Careless Whisper (Wham!)
6) Don't You Forget About Me (Simple Minds)
7) I Got You Babe (Sonny and Cher)
8) If I Ain't Got You (Alicia Keys)
9) Leave Get Out (JoJo)
10) Love Shack (B52s)
11) Meant To Live (Switchfoot)
12) My Immortal (Evanescence)
13) New York New York (Frank Sinatra)
14) Oops I Did It Again (Britney Spears)
15) Respect (Aretha Franklin)
16) Take My Breath Away (Berlin)
17) The Reason (Hoobastank)
18) Twist & Shout (The Beatles)
19) Unchained Melody (The Righteous Brothers)
20) Under Pressure (David Bowie)
Those songs were listed on the box. These songs are also there:
21) Against All Odds (Phil Collins)
22) California Dreamin (Mamas & Papas or the Beach Boys)
23) China Grove (Doobie Brothers)
24) Come Clean (Hillary Duff)
25) Flashdance What A Feeling (Irene Cara)
26) Hold On (Good Charlotte)
27) Joy To The World (Three Dog Night)
28) Killing Me Softly (by Luther Vandross but performed by a female--The Fugees? Roberta Black?)
29) Shining Star (Earth, Wind, and Fire)
30) Someday (Nickelback)
31) Thank You (Jamelia)
32) When I'm Gone (3 Doors Down)
33) Why Can't I (Liz Phair)
34) You're the One That I Want (from the Grease soundtrack)

Sometimes we let our 9-year-old be on the Easy level, and that helps him to do just as well as we do. "Adjustable difficulty levels ensures that anyone can be a karaoke star," it says on the back of the box. And it's true.

Volume 3 has the option of singing a few songs as a duet. My husband and I would make the effort and go get another microphone, but the songs don't seem all that great, and the karaoke is satisfyingly entertaining already.

Volume 3 has a new hairstyle for one character, Dwayne. It's my husband's favorite. We call him the Mullet Man. And the facial expressions that the character makes is HILARIOUS while he sings! He's hilariously serious and all into the music.

OK one last thing I wanted to add. The microphone that can come with Volume 3 works just fine. It's durable (we've thrown it and stomped on it by accident a few times) and it works well. We don't have Volume 1 yet but I think that the microphone doesn't work with it, and instead you have to get a special headset. I will let you all know in a review about that as soon as possible.

Incredibly fun alone or with friends

5 Rating: 5, Useful: 29 / 29
Date: April 15, 2005
Author: Amazon User

If you laugh at karaoke, you really need to give this a try! Not only it is amazingly fun - you can even sing duets with your friends!

We have Karaoke on the XBox and love the graphics and ability to download new songs. On the PS2, There is Karaoke 1 and Karaoke 2 which have that same song selection and venue set. With Karaoke 3, they bring in the brand new ability to sing duets.

First, the normal gameplay. You get a full new set of locations - from a garage with cars outside, to an incredibly fun music video set, to a classic 'rooftop' scene a la the Beatles.

You get a new batch of songs, and like all song sets, they are "reproduced" by professional singers. This means that sometimes they sound almost exactly the same - and sometimes there are differences that drive fans completely insane. It really depends on which particular song you enjoy and how fanatical you are about the accuracy.

There's a good selection though, from Oops .. I Did It Again to Under Pressure, from Ain't No Mountain High Enough to Respect. I have to admit, though, that there weren't any true Lisa Favorites in here. With my XBox karaoke, there are a bunch of songs that I'd gladly sing over and over again because I love them. There are 2 or 3 songs in here that I enjoy a lot, but nothing of the same level. I suppose it's always hard to choose a group of songs that appeal to a wide audience.

I suppose in a way I've been spoiled by the XBox download ability. I can just go online and grab more songs if I want with the XBox. With the PS2, I'm sort of stuck.

Once you get through the main gameplay, you automatically unlock all the original locations, which is great. The graphics are really pretty impressive, with the fans reacting immediately to your good and bad behavior. There is also a HUGE collection of characters to choose from now, from one-legged pirates to opera singers, from Indian girls to Meatloaf-looking guys. That is really something great.

Of course the main reason to get Karaoke 3 is the duets, and they are a TON of fun. You need 2 mics of course, and someone to sing with. Then each of you gets your own progress bar, one on the top, one on the bottom. There are only a handful of duet songs in here - from I Got You Babe to You're the One that I Want, from Shining Star to ABC. I like California Dreamin' myself, and it is actually a challenge to keep those harmonies going. But it's great fun!

Definitely an incredibly fun way to build up your singing skills, your tone and pitch and ability to hold notes for the proper length. An incredibly fun party game too, since just about every human sings along with songs they love, even if they won't admit to it. My only real complaint with this PS2 version is that you can't download new songs. You would think since the PS2 *is* able to go online that they'd give you some way to do it. Maybe we'll have to wait for the next generation Sony console before it catches up in this sense.

Bonus - watch the 'making of' video - they have the Badgers Badgers video running in the background on the laptop!


5 Rating: 5, Useful: 13 / 15
Date: November 30, 2004
Author: Amazon User

I have both Karaoke 1 & 2 and loved them, so when I heard that there will be a part 3 I got excited. In my opinion, this 3rd game is better than the 2nd one. There are a lot more popular songs so choose from, including my personal favorite "My Immortal". Then you have older songs as well such as "Respect" "Take My Breath Away" "Under Pressure" and "ABC". It's a great game for the young and old. And it is a great party game. Whenever anyone comes over they get sucked into the game and we end up having fun. Even if you can't sing, its fun to play and to hear yourself. Everyone has a great laugh and its jolly good fun. The game is even fun to play alone.

There are also cool new features. You have the duet mode in which you could sing with someone else. That is fun as well. Or you can compete with each other. WARNING: It can get a bit competative. There are also new venues, like "Music Video" and "Rooftop".

Overall, this is such a fun game and I'm hoping they come out with another one!! ::HINT::HINT::

SO COOL Chritmas Toy

5 Rating: 5, Useful: 10 / 10
Date: November 21, 2005
Author: Amazon User

To start out well, this game is AWSOME!!! I got this toy for Chistmas. I have Karaoke Rev. #3. First, you need a headset/microphone but, if you buy the"Big Package" you will get it. When you first get on there, there will be a mode selection. Then there will be a charcter selection.And also judging level and outfit. You can get new charaters and outfits by doing and winning either gold or platinum in the single player mode on "Show Time". And don't forget to name your charater!! Then you can choose your song.Here are some of them:

2.Beat It
4.I Got You Babe
5.If IAin't Got You
6.Leave(Get Out)
7.Love Shack
8.Meant To Live
9.My Immortal
10.New York New York
11.Oops!...I Did It Again
12.Don't You ( Forget About Me)
13.Careless Whisper
15. Take My Breath Away
16. The Reason
17. Twist & Shout
18.Unchained melody
19.Under Pressure
20.Ain't No Mountain Hihg Enough
...and many more!

Then of course you sing the song.Be careful you could get bood of the stage!!!You want to try to get gold or platinum. To get gold you need 12,000 points or more.To get platinum you will need to get 20,000 point or more. There will be a rating bar. You want to get all green and you will be good. Then when you are done with the song there will be a measure of your points you got and how much percentage you got (lousy, poor, okay, good, and great).Then pick a new song!!This game is SSSSSOOOOOO much FUN and I hope this reveiw was helpful to Y-O-U!!!!!!!!!!!

Great fun, but a little inaccurate

4 Rating: 4, Useful: 11 / 13
Date: December 30, 2004
Author: Amazon User

I had never encountered this series for PS2 before last night, and I must say that I am quite thrilled with it. I will probably be buying the other two in the series ASAP. This is such a great, artistic bonding experience that it's almost hard to believe that something so typically antisocial as a game system is responsible for it. It features various controls which allow you to set levels for music level, lead level, etc. Quite sophisticated. The characters are hilarious. It has animations like little pincing, dancing cr0bs, mechanical bulls, just total wigness. And the varied characters available to you are positively "gay" in the traditional sense, each one dancing more and more as your performance improves. As you improve, the crowd gets louder and rowdier. Also there are various weird cheat codes.

Most importantly, if you do REALLY well in one of the venues, you win a FREAKING BLIMP WITH YOUR NAME ON IT! Pure genius. A blimp indeed.

Now for the bad news. Yes, there is too much recent pop. With the extensive, rich history we all share in "pop" music, you'd think there'd be less of an emphasis on recent, TV derived top 40 and more of an emphasis on the roots like funk and Motown, but I guess Konami was after a broader and younger demographic. And the songs which are older, are hard as crap. We all had to resort to falsetto voices to do well in several of them. There are very few songs on here which cater to baritone singers. "New York, New York" was a good example. It's Sinatra's world. We just live here.

And now for my most unique and important complaint. My friends and I are quite analytical, and we discovered early on that phonemes and enunciations are almost completely disregarded as a scoring point in this game. The game only tracks pitch accuracy and rhythm (rhythm in the form of the start/stop time for your tone.) As a result, it is possible to cheat by *humming* or *mumbling* entire tunes, so that you can devote your attention instead to focusing on the little sideways, Asteroids-like isosceles pitch tracking triangle. We call this "playing defender" or "defendering" and it's an easy way to rack up points. If you want to insult a friend who is defendering, all you have to do is say, "don't forget the little people on the ground." I recommend that phoneme tracking and enunciation be added to version 4.

Also, some of the piano-scroll pitch tracking maps are plainly wrong in parts. For instance, one of my friends (my singer, actually) is an "oldies" pro. He knows all the inflections and blue notes of the song "Twist and Shout." But this game has discarded some of them, for instance, the very soulful, bluesy scoop in the beginning of the word "Shout" in the chorus. Every time we tried to sing the word the way it was recorded, the pitch tracker would go off the piano scroll, and we'd get rated "Lousy" or "Poor" for the crime of singing the song right.

All in all, this is still worth it, and the point of my complaints is to help improve the series, because the idea is fundamentally brilliant and inspired. This game takes advantage of the same sort of pitch tracking technology we have been using in studios for years. In fact, at least one of the generic nu-pop songs on here features blatant pitch correction in the original vocal! How fair is that? The guide vocalist gets help, but you don't. :)

In version 4, you should be able to build up a "turbo boost" which can be used with the left trigger, a bonus which lets you turn on fast autotune, aka the "Cher effect," so you can annoy the living crap out of your compatriots. :)

A definate hit!

5 Rating: 5, Useful: 5 / 5
Date: October 03, 2005
Author: Amazon User

After not being able to find this in any store, we ordered online and received it in a few days, just in time to take on vacation. My 13 & 14 year-olds played it every day once we came in from the beach, and kept them from bickering as they usually do when inside in the same room (and kept my sanity as well!) They even had mom trying it, after sending them out on the balcony so they couldn't hear me! Sleepovers also now have an activity to keep them busy for hours, along with the DDR. Looking forward to the next one~ PS-it is not obvious that you need to puchase a separate microphone or headset to play this game. (We prefer the microphone). Get 2 if you have more than one child!

Not as Good as the First Two Games in the Karaoke Series

3 Rating: 3, Useful: 9 / 15
Date: November 30, 2004
Author: Amazon User

First the good news:
The new duet modes of play are the saving grace, or else I would have given this game less than 3 stars. The duet mode is designed to let you play either cooperatively as a team or compete against another player or team. Some songs have separate harmony and melody parts, and others have separate male and female parts. But most of them have only one part. If you sing a duet on those songs, you can sing the song together in unison or you can play the mode in which you take turns singing alternate lines. You get a combined score if you are playing as a team, and you get a breakdown of your individual performance at the end. It is a terrific feature, especially for those who are shy about singing solo.

The bad news:
The songs are terrible. I don't know what it is about them. I don't listen to too much from the teeny-bopper pop charts, so I was unfamiliar with the more modern songs. I would really like to learn them, however, some of them are just too difficult. The old favorites that were chosen are also geared towards very experienced singers who can hit really high notes. For example, the Jackson Five classic "ABC" should come with a warning label, not only of damaging your vocal chords, but of making the neighbors think someone is being violently tortured next door.

My favorite songs to sing are Twist & Shout, Come Clean, and California Dreamin' and Someday. There is an Akira Yamaoka song that is also good, but must be unlocked in Showtime mode (I'm not sure if I'm allowed to mention the name). After that, the song list bores me, and I'd much prefer to play either of the two previous Karaoke Revolution discs. It's too bad you can't load the songs from previous discs to take advantage of the new features, like Medley and Duet, that weren't available on the first disc.

As for new characters, outfits, and venues, they have added some interesting new stuff to the familiar ones. The two new venues-- Rooftop and Music Video-- are ones you'll enjoy playing.


5 Rating: 5, Useful: 4 / 5
Date: February 22, 2005
Author: Amazon User

I think this game is one of the best I've ever played. I love the song selections on it and I love all the different challenges. My friend and I play this for hours! Its really good for parties too (Birthdays, get togethers, etc.) :) I highly recommend this product!!!!!!! :) :) :)

Karaoke Revolution V3 - Great for the whole family.

4 Rating: 4, Useful: 3 / 3
Date: September 10, 2005
Author: Amazon User

This game was a lot of fun for the whole family. The characters are comical and have their own personalities. The game's a favorite for visiting friends and for parties. I only wish that it included more songs. Can't wait for V4 which is supposed to come out in November and be both more customizable and have more songs.

Haven't been able to use 2 headsets

5 Rating: 5, Useful: 5 / 8
Date: January 02, 2005
Author: Amazon User

I bought the first Karaoke game for my nieces for Christmas. We opened it early before they had to go home "to try it out". My sister and I fell in love with the game and had to go out and buy KR2 and KR3 and two lochitech headsets right away. I have not been able to use KR3 with the 2 headsets. The game locks up at the start. If we keep hitting the reset button, we can sometimes put in all of our information and then it locks up while the song is downloading. I tried the game using just one headset and it works just fine, but then I don't get to use all of the new features, like the duets or the sing offs. I haven't had any luck so far in trouble shooting this problem. I have switched headsets and I know they both work by themselves.

Review Page: 1 2 3 4 5 Next