PC - Windows : Need for Speed Underground 2 Reviews

Gas Gauge: 84
Gas Gauge 84
Below are user reviews of Need for Speed Underground 2 and on the right are links to professionally written reviews. The summary of review scores shows the distribution of scores given by the professional reviewers for Need for Speed Underground 2. Column height indicates the number of reviews with a score within the range shown at the bottom of the column. Higher scores (columns further towards the right) are better.

Summary of Review Scores

Game Spot 74
Game FAQs
CVG 84
IGN 91
GameSpy 90
GameZone 90
Game Revolution 75
1UP 90

User Reviews (1 - 11 of 41)

Show these reviews first:

Highest Rated
Lowest Rated
Most Helpful
Least Helpful

not as advanced as I thought it would be...

4 Rating: 4, Useful: 2 / 2
Date: January 04, 2007
Author: Amazon User

This was my 6th NFS game and I was a little dissapointed. The jump up in graphics from one game to the next was pretty big at first. NFS, NFSII, NFS Pursuit, NFS High Stakes all grew each time. But this game did not go up to a new level like I had hoped. The race idea is fun, having to drive around "looking" for races. I really enjoyed learning how to "drift" for points. The graphics were a bit of a letdown from Porsche Unleashed but an upgrade from the others before it. I did not find anyway to get any cops to chase me and that is one of the fun parts of the many games in the NFS series. I must admit that I only played the Underground 2 for a couple of months cuz Most Wanted came out and I went to that and stayed. I did not try to play on-line, so I cannot answer to that aspect. My suggestion: Buy it if it is cheap.

If you want online play, pass on this

1 Rating: 1, Useful: 1 / 2
Date: April 26, 2006
Author: Amazon User

The single player racing for this game is good, with decent graphics and good sound effects. However, if you want to race online, forget it. Don't waste your money. I don't know exactly what the problem is, but it is practically impossible to find an another player to race with online. Judging by the number of "help me" message posts on EA's website, many others have the same problem. No one seems to have any answers.

I bought this game to race online, as they advertised, so it's a frustrating waste of $20.00.

Something's Missing

4 Rating: 4, Useful: 2 / 2
Date: March 02, 2006
Author: Amazon User

I won't go into all the details of this game. Overall, it's a very fun game, with excellent graphics and nice handling.

However, there's one really major problem, in my opinion... no cops. The one aspect of gameplay that always set the NFS franchise apart from other racing games was the fact that you had cops chasing you. Now, they've finally decided to take NFS to the realm of ILLEGAL street racing through an actual free-roamable city... and they take out the cops. That makes no sense, whatsoever.

Yes, this game is cool, but it could've been extremely better, if they had kept the cops.

Nothing like the first one!

4 Rating: 4, Useful: 0 / 0
Date: February 26, 2006
Author: Amazon User

I thought it'd just be more of the first one, but it's very different. You have added race tracks, and small dirt tracks. You also have SUV races, but only visible when driving an SUV.
The physics are more realistic than the first one, but the overall graphics are a small notch down. It's well worth playing if you like racing games. I do wish there was a little bit more added realism.

One of the best...

5 Rating: 5, Useful: 0 / 0
Date: February 14, 2006
Author: Amazon User

This game rocks. I was kind of skeptical at first about buying it but after playing it, I can't get enough!

This game is off the hook!!!!!!

5 Rating: 5, Useful: 0 / 1
Date: February 11, 2006
Author: Amazon User

I play this game wit my cordless rumble pad and it is awesome!!!
I love the freeroam mode!!:D 0_0

very cool game

5 Rating: 5, Useful: 0 / 3
Date: February 07, 2006
Author: Amazon User

this game is brilliant!
on this game my family have 5 files:
it is just the best game ever!!!!!!

Great graphics and excellent game

5 Rating: 5, Useful: 0 / 0
Date: January 30, 2006
Author: Amazon User

This is a very cool game. Beginning with the fact that the graphics and the city in the background look so real, and the races that you make with other drivers in the middle of the highway are very fun too. I spent like 5 hours playing this game until I figured I was a human being and I had to sleep, but I couldn't stop playing it. The missions are very cool and you can win money to leave the car they way you want. I strongly recommend this game to all the car games lovers, you won't regret of buying this game at all.

PS: if you have a fast Internet connection, play it online, because it's cool playing with other real players, just like you.

Excitement Rev's up initially but dosent last long..

4 Rating: 4, Useful: 0 / 0
Date: January 26, 2006
Author: Amazon User

This game is goood, no doubt about it.The graphics are good and the rides feel great.But you tend to get bored after a while.Its the same thing again and again but good for some TP - time pass.

Need for Speed Underground 2 is a great game.

5 Rating: 5, Useful: 4 / 5
Date: January 03, 2006
Author: Amazon User

Need for Speed Underground is a very fun and unique game. Unlike other games, you must look for the races on the map. There are 5 stages that consist of a certain number of races. Races include:
Sprint (Green on the map)
Place first on a race from start to finish.

Circuit (Purple on the map)
Place first on a race course consisting of 2-4 laps.

Drag (Blue on the map)
Race from start to finish while shifting gears.

Street X (Light blue)
Race on a track with very tight turns.

Drift (Light tan)
Unlike other races, you don't have to place first at the finish line. However, you must score the most power slides or drift points. Along with regular drift on a track, there is also downhill drift. Your opponents have already crossed the finish line and you have to drift down a mountain and beat the first place car.

SUV (Orange)
Any of the above races for only SUVs.

URL (Underground Racing League--Yellow)
Either come in first on a long race, with 5-6 laps, or a tournament with races about 4 laps each. All URL races are sponsored.

The game takes place in Bayview. You start out in the city core and later unlock Beacon Hill, Jackson Heights, Coal Harbor East, and Coal Harbor West. In each section, there are hidden shops including body shops, performance shops, car specialties shops, car lots, and graphics shops. Tune your car at either the garage or any performance shop for different races. As the main character, Rachel gives you tips, tells you if there is a special event, and helps you get a sponsor. All races give you money when you win, but sponsored races give you more money and hidden races give you a lot!

Around stage 3, you will meet the street reapers, the most tricky racers in the game. After that, the Street Reapers remain there and you race them occasionally. As the final race, you race Caleb, the leader of the Street Reapers. I know you will enjoy this game.

Review Page: 1 2 3 4 5 Next