Xbox : Need for Speed Most Wanted Reviews

Gas Gauge: 84
Gas Gauge 84
Below are user reviews of Need for Speed Most Wanted and on the right are links to professionally written reviews. The summary of review scores shows the distribution of scores given by the professional reviewers for Need for Speed Most Wanted. Column height indicates the number of reviews with a score within the range shown at the bottom of the column. Higher scores (columns further towards the right) are better.

Summary of Review Scores

Game Spot 84
Game FAQs
GamesRadar 90
CVG 80
IGN 85
GameSpy 80
GameZone 87
1UP 85

User Reviews (1 - 11 of 27)

Show these reviews first:

Highest Rated
Lowest Rated
Most Helpful
Least Helpful

Bringing the "Need" back to the franchise,

5 Rating: 5, Useful: 5 / 5
Date: January 03, 2006
Author: Amazon User

I must admit, when I first popped in this game, I was fresh off of playing Burnout Revenge, one of the sweetest-looking racers out there. Coming to this, I was quick to notice how flawed the graphics were. I've seen this on pc, and man, it just doesn't measure up on xbox. I know its got its 360 cousin and all, but judging by the look of the Burnout series, I just knew the xbox could do so much more graphics-wise, if only things were tweaked right. So, right off, I thought this game was gonna suck, big time.

How wrong I was.

I haven't been this glued to a game...maybe ever. Whatever this game lacks in graphics (admit it folks, it's fuzzy and it is lacking no matter how many "advanced effects" it's supposed to have) it makes up for in gameplay. While Burnout Revenge is great-looking, over-the-top fun, this game seems to have a sense of purpose that no other racer brings to the table. Underground what? Who cares about NFS Underground when you can have cop chases AND street racing culture mixed? Contrary to others' opinions, I find the NFSU2 rather boring and complicated with little sense of purpose. In Most Wanted, even a gamer like me can get hooked, without feeling preached in how to have fun. The best part of any racer - and any game in general - is how the player makes it fun, not how the company guides you into a labeled "fun" situation. I think game makers are forgetting that, as imagination has taken a backseat to technology. Games like Most Wanted harken back to the days of High Stakes and Hot Pursuit, where there was general guidance but high emphasis on mere setup - you, the racer, were the only one limiting your fun when a cop showed up on radar. I can still remember on Hot Pursuit doing aerial spins over befuddled cop cars on the raised Atlantic track. Not very realistic, but still, very fun.

And the same fun is had here. Nothing is overly realistic, even though complicated car handling is introduced in an attempt to simulate realism (although the skidding and sliding all over the place can become tiresome), even if others will argue it is true-to-life. Then again, those people would have argued the original NFS was true to life, and, well...

Anyway, this game is fun. Simple, fantasy-filling fun. I mean, who wouldn't like to spend the day in the life of a street racer? Apparently many, judging by the success of The Fast and the Furious movie. Well, be ready to live that action here, and experience the raw fun of racing and cop-evasion in one totally immersive package. You even get actors to play in FMVs for you, helping to bring this all to life (complain about the cheesy-ness if you will, but I find the little movie and phone call extras enjoyable).

Overall, this game brings the goods. It has addictive gameplay, an actually immersive story, great cars, and a sweet soundtrack. It only lacks in graphics, and, some might say, ease of control...but still, I cannot deny the long hours I spent glued to this game, giving my beloved Burnout series a much needed rest.



3 Rating: 3, Useful: 5 / 5
Date: February 09, 2006
Author: Amazon User

There re hundreds of speed car games in the market but we must admit that almost each new game brings new options and ideas." XB Need For Speed: Most Wanted" comes to fulfill this statement. You start your carrier as a victim because somebody called Razor (!) uses you to trick the police and you get arrested. Now you begin starting with a really cheap car to get your revenge from Razor. Because of your special driving abilities little by little you climb higher on police's black list of drivers. You participate in illegal races where police is going to give you a nightmare because the more dangerous you become the more police cars will be after you.
You will face 15 challenges the last one opponent is the most hated person in your life Razor.
You really going to enjoy this game the interface is great the music is fantastic the only thing may disappoint is the limited number of vehicles. Have fun

NFS Underground Meets NFS Hot Pursuit

5 Rating: 5, Useful: 7 / 9
Date: December 02, 2005
Author: Amazon User

This is by far my favorate Need for Speed game yet. I loved the others, but I was always wishing for EA to try to put together some of the great aspects of their games. Whenever I was playing Need for Speed Hot Pursuit 2, I wanted to be able to customize my cars. When I was playing Underground, I wanted to have the police chase me around town. In Need for Speed Most Wanted, you get both of them along with fairly good graphics, an excellent sense of speed, and a giant, wide open city to explore. The story is ok, and overall there is actually more of one than in NFS Underground. You are playing as an anonymous street racer who lost his car to his rival in a race. Throughout the game, you have to build up a new ride and beat other top street racers in order to get to the top of the most wanted list. The wide open city is very detailed and VERY large. It's much better than EA's first attempt at making a free roaming city in the not-so-great Need for Speed Underground 2. The only real gripe that I have about Most Wanted is the customization options, which aren't nearly as detaled as the first Underground game. In the original, you could pick out your front bumper, rear bumper, side skirts, head lights and tail lights separately. In Most Wanted, you have to get a body kit, which is basicly just all of these things pre selected for you. While the kits are still well done, you can no longer mix things up to your liking. However, you can still choose spoilers, rims, hoods, ect. The new edition to the Undergroung series (the police) are also a great part of the game. I find the police chases so much fun that I spend more time just driving around the city causing trouble, trying to start a police chase than I actually race. The police are the best I have seen in a game. Other games that have police chases usually just have them bumping you every few seconds. The police in Most wanted do all sorts of things such as setting up road blocks, spike strips, special souped up units, and of course, helicoptors. This may all sound very familiar to fans of the NFS Hot Pursuit games, but they use these tactics with much more intelligence. The police units also use a very effective tactic in which one police car will get in front of you, one will get behind you, and one will get on your left and right side. Once your completly boxed in, the car in front of you will slam on the brakes and trap you. When you get arrested, you can either use a get out of jail pass that you earn in races or you can pay the fine. If you don't have a pass or enough money, your car will be empounded. If you get in a big police chase, head for one of the red triangles on your map. They indicate objects that can be knocked over and used to get the police off your tail. For example: One of these objects is a water tower. If you rip through the support beams, the tower will collapse, cutting off or trapping your pursuers. The graphics aren't the best, but the cutscenes are excellent, and Need for Speed is still king when it comes to delivering a great sense of speed. This is a great racing game with cool cars and crazy police chases, but if you are looking for a game with great customization options, I recommend Midnight Club 3: DUB Edition, which has the best customization out there, along with free roaming cities to play in.

Sega CD meets Burnout 3 and 4

5 Rating: 5, Useful: 9 / 14
Date: November 22, 2005
Author: Amazon User

Now the subject of my review makes a reference to sega cd (a system that has a sentimental place in my heart for its use of live action FMV's and the like.) There is that and so much more in this killer racing game that gives the Burnout series a run for its money. Now it may not reach the high speed that burnout achieves of have the defined traffic attack options that game has...NFSMW is still one of the best games I have ever played on the XBOX or any other system for that matter. This is one of those games in my mind that is so much fun it makes me wonder how badly we even need the XBOX360 after all. I have read many other reviews on her that mention how great the customization options were in the other games. I have to admit that is not the reason I purchased this game. I bought it for the pursuit modes. So, if that effects your opinion of this review in a negative way so be it. But that said this game still has so much to offer...And with the great story mode (bad acting and all) I think there is an immersion factor that makes this hands down the best racing game on the market. But as I said and have to admit it of course depends on what it is you are looking for in a game of this type. I am loving it though and it is indeed worth the 50 dollars. I have been a huge burnout fan for quite sometime and this game has been played a lot more in my household recently. To the Burnout fans out there...While it isn't quite as good in certain respects there are other elements in this game that may wish had been included in that series as well.

LOVE IT good job ea

5 Rating: 5, Useful: 3 / 7
Date: November 21, 2005
Author: Amazon User

Im glad EA has finally brought back the need for speed we all loved. They have made it more like the original need for speeds 1-3,high stakes, I liked underground a bit but its nothing like an original need for speed that I grew up with and loved. Great job EA

Not a game you want to buy.

1 Rating: 1, Useful: 3 / 8
Date: November 20, 2005
Author: Amazon User

I bought this game yesterday. Now I am wishing I hadn't. All the great things that you liked in the previous titles are gone. There aren't any replays at all. Don't buy it. There are racing games that are worth your money.

what happend?

3 Rating: 3, Useful: 3 / 10
Date: November 22, 2005
Author: Amazon User

Ok i used to own the previous two nfs games that came out before this one and the main selling point was the wide range of customization that was available. This game is severely lacking that and it is a big dissapointment. I like the fact that they brought back alot of true exotic imports but i personally liked tuning 4 and 6 cylinder cars. I mean come on you dont put a friggin body kit and vinyl on a mercielago. Its unheard of. Another thing unheard of is how an eclipse can out race a viper srt 10!!! What the hell is wrong with this picture. Now i know that nfs isnt really known for realism but that is rediculouse. What they should have done is have certain clasifications of cars because im sorry a v6 golf should not be running against a c6 vette. They should have brought back alot of other cars as well as the exotics such as the rsx type s the civic the s 2000 hell even an nsx. And the other thing....please make the game longer. I bought the black edition and trust me it aint worth it. Now as for the cut scences i thought that was a really cool approach and i applaude for that, (cuz josie maran is friggin hot) but aside from that i thought they way they did that is pretty cool. All in all this game is a renters game only. Deffinately worth it there but do not buy this game.

great game except

4 Rating: 4, Useful: 2 / 5
Date: November 19, 2005
Author: Amazon User


Could Have Been Better

4 Rating: 4, Useful: 1 / 1
Date: February 14, 2006
Author: Amazon User

Now the need for speed series has been out for a while and it is argued to be the best video game series out there. I still say that Midnight club is better, but whatever floats your boat. The need for speed series is a very good series but lacks in some things. This one is no different in problem wise. It is a good game no doubt, but lacks in some things that could have made it the greatest racing game alive.

The story-line isn't all that good, but I mean what Racing game has an excellent story-line. They are hard to come up with and are mostly dull. This one is sort of new to the dull story-lines but what the heck. You are a racer, one of the best, and you race another guy named Razor. Unfortunatley you leave a little car spill at the beginning of the race. Your "so-called" friend Mia tells you to pull over just to be safe. You end up losing the race and oyur vehicle. You find out later that Razor has used your car to get to the number one spot on the blacklist(consists of 15 racers all racing for the number one spot). Mia tells you its your chance to get your car back by working your way up the list to eventually race Razor. Now there are a couple of twists in the game, but I dont want to give anyhting away. The game could have had more cinematechs though. I mean it only has a few in the beginning and a few at the end. Its really disappointing too because they look amazing. It also does get boring around the middle of the game where you are kind of in the middle of a story-line desert with no cinematechs and no story-line updates. You kind of say to yourself where is everybody, because they dont send any messages or anything. I would rate the story line a 3 out of 5.

The gameplay is obviously the top thing the game has to offer. The game makers decided to go with the whole cop chase theme with this one. A good way to go, but they didnt do it too well but i'll get to that in a minute. The blacklist basicaly works like this: You get informed on who is the next racer on the blacklist and to race him, like usual, you have to earn respect or whatever. He gives you a certain amount of races you need to complete and also a certain amount of milestones, which are like cop chaces and what not (smashing cop cars, dodgeing road blacks, and time limits in chases). Now listen up because this is a big bad thing in the game. The hardness RATIO between the races and milestones is incredibly bad. The races are so easy and the milestones get incredibly hard. So basically if a younger kid wants to play the game he'll be able to do the races no problem, but then have to have an older person to the milestones for them everytime. Its incredible. And i mean the races are so easy even the final boss Razor is easy. To be in fact I never lost a blacklist race the whole game. However I did have trouble with the milestones. They start to get incredible hard around the nineth blacklist member. It will start to take you a whole day of none stop playing just to finish the milestones. And so basically if you are a hardcore gamer and you're reakky good then you can complete the milestones, but you will feel bored with the race difficulty. However in other gameplay words, its rather good. The customization is amazing and I love the body kits and everything, however there is not as much sutomization as the other which disappointed me and there is not many cars and they are like ..eh, nothing to great. The gameplay with mostly feel the same as the other NFS games, but they did make the shops all into one so you didnt have to do that stupid driving to go to the paint shop and then body shop like the last one. I give the gameplay a 4 out of 5.

The graphics are excellent and there are no problems with them. The only thing is your car has better graphics than the cars on the road, but what racing game doesn't have that. The cinematechs graphics are even greater, but you only see them in the beginning and end, god only knows why. I give the graphics a 5 out of 5. The sound on the other hand are also good, with the car sounds and what not. The acting though is horrible. Mia sounds like a joke and Razor, oh my god, his voice is ridiculous. It sounds like he is a devil. Me and my cousin always make fun of it and he does the voice so good i crack up everytime. Anyways I give the sound a 4 out of 5.

It may have sound liked I complained about the game a lot, but its a pretty good game. Its just that the things could have been prevented if they made the game right, it just frustrates me. Anyway I say get the game, definitely buy it. Because if you rent it you will never hae the time to beat it because it is amazingly long, perhaps maybe too long, but whatever.

Another great NFS

4 Rating: 4, Useful: 1 / 1
Date: April 13, 2007
Author: Amazon User

Just like the last few Need For Speed games, this is awesome. There are plenty of fun race modes and the run ins with the police are very fun. NFS made a great change from Underground 2 by giving the player the option to jump straight to the race instead of driving around the large map to find the next race (which you can also do if you choose). The rides aren't as customizable as Underground, but that's not really what this game is about anyway. The graphics are great, especially the cut scenes and the sound effects are cool, too. The acting, as always, is terrible, but who really cares, that's not why we play NFS. I've gotten many many hours of game play out of this one, and I'm still only about half way through the game. This is a great buy for any racing game fan.

Review Page: 1 2 3 Next