Playstation 3 : Sonic The Hedgehog Reviews

Gas Gauge: 42
Gas Gauge 42
Below are user reviews of Sonic The Hedgehog and on the right are links to professionally written reviews. The summary of review scores shows the distribution of scores given by the professional reviewers for Sonic The Hedgehog. Column height indicates the number of reviews with a score within the range shown at the bottom of the column. Higher scores (columns further towards the right) are better.

Summary of Review Scores

Game Spot 42
Game FAQs
GamesRadar 40
CVG 47
IGN 42

User Reviews (1 - 11 of 67)

Show these reviews first:

Highest Rated
Lowest Rated
Most Helpful
Least Helpful

Terrible game

1 Rating: 1, Useful: 45 / 49
Date: February 22, 2007
Author: Amazon User

I think this game should be recalled. There are too many issues to list but a couple are: extremely slow load times, too many areas in game where disk needs to load, bad point of view on characters (meaning you can't see where the character is going because the screenshot is showing an area that is of no importance), maneuverability of characters is terrible. I have never written a review of a product but hopefully this will save people money and they will buy a different game.

Don't Buy It

1 Rating: 1, Useful: 24 / 28
Date: March 16, 2007
Author: Amazon User

Sega really flopped on this one. I treid playing it for a few hours..the camera angles, yes you can adjust them..but as soon as you start running again, they resume their same terrible view point. This is the biggest waste of my money...Don't buy it!

Unless you're a glutton for misery...DON'T BOTHER!!

1 Rating: 1, Useful: 21 / 28
Date: February 15, 2007
Author: Amazon User

I simply can't express how frustratingly awful the three hours of my time wasted on this game were. To get an idea you could step on hot coals, walk repeatedly into a wall, pull your hair out strand by strand...oh wait...these things would probably be fun compared to Sonic the Hedgehog.
As a longtime fan of the Sonic franchise it pains me to have to blast it this way, but around the 50th time that our little blue sprinter got stuck against a wall for no reason, disappeared off the screen due to a wandering camera angle, or initiated a painfully long loading time for an embarassingly short pointless scene; I was wishing that I'd never heard of it. In a nutshell; the controls are impossible to negotiate, the camera angles are glitchy, load times are loooooooong and frequent, and the unnecessary deaths due to poor design will drive you mad. The graphics are good, but a turd that looks like gold is still a turd.

LOADING all the time, don't buy this game!

1 Rating: 1, Useful: 7 / 7
Date: February 14, 2007
Author: Amazon User

I wish I had rented it, cause it is ALWAYS loading, you spend at least 70% of the time waiting for it to load. Not only that but often times you don't actually play/control sonic during the game. I bought this game because of the good times I had with dreamcast, all honest, this one is a #@*!% of #$@% !

Insultingly bad

1 Rating: 1, Useful: 9 / 11
Date: February 22, 2007
Author: Amazon User

Buried deep underneath the interface, sparse save points, and pathological load times, it looks like there might have been a fun platformer in here. But you'll never find it. This game is just outright offensive. It's one of those rare roughs in the diamond that make you wonder if anybody. Ever. Played this. At Sega. Sega is a major company. I can't connect that fact with this game. I bought and own this game. It is one of my deeper regrets of the last month. I'd take it to a resaler and get my $5 store credit, but that would just lower the price and raise the risk that some other poor sod is going to actually have to sit through the three hours of excruciating pain it took to fully convince me that this game has absolutely no merit.

The opening video is pretty. If you have a good display, and get a copy of the game for free, it might be worth popping the game in to watch that. Immediately after the video finishes, eject the disc, and ask yourself this question for the ages: is Blu-Ray also a better _microwave_ format?

Stay away. You have been warned!

2 Rating: 2, Useful: 6 / 6
Date: January 31, 2007
Author: Amazon User

If you read through the net, you will find very similiar comments on this game regardless of the platform. 95% of the reviews for this game are bad. A few personal comments. While the CGI for the crossover scenes between levels are decent (not that great but ok), the graphics during the game play is dissapointing. The basic game play is aweful too. I found myself dying not because of being killed by a villain but rather from me falling off some cliff (or rather) due to bad camera angles. It's not fun when you don't have a reason to die and yet you do. If you want to be frustrated for hours, then get it. Or else, save your money and buy a better game.

The Opposite of Fun...

1 Rating: 1, Useful: 6 / 6
Date: December 09, 2007
Author: Amazon User

Allow me to join the chorus of 'boos' for this game. The only Sonic game I've ever played was the original game on one of the Sega systems. When I saw this game pretty cheap at Target, I thought hey that oughta be fun! Turns out, it is the opposite of fun. Bad Control, bizarre camera angles (one moment, you are running or jumping straight ahead, the next moment, you are flying 90 degrees off into oblivion because the camera just changed..) LOOOONG load screens like every 5 seconds (brought on by the fact than you will DIE every 5 seconds through no fault of your own). It is just generally awful. Buy this for your worst enemy...maybe...but not for anyone you care remotely about.


1 Rating: 1, Useful: 7 / 9
Date: February 10, 2007
Author: Amazon User

This game is not worth spending the money on. The controls are very hard to master and keep a handle on Sonic. The load times verses the actual play time are rediculous. It seems as though the levels are very short and un-eventfull. The angles of camera change often and dont offer the best view most of the time. I was very disappointed in this game and wish I would have rented it before I bought it.

Worst PS3 Purchase Possible

1 Rating: 1, Useful: 6 / 7
Date: February 25, 2007
Author: Amazon User

I am another who deeply regrets wasting my $60 on this game. If you can stand the CONSTANT loading, then maybe you could tolerate the glitchy graphics, and average (AT BEST) storyline and gameplay.

Total disappointment. Honestly, I enjoyed the original Sega Genesis version to this one, HANDS DOWN.

Save your money for Rainbow 6, or Battlefield Bad Company


2 Rating: 2, Useful: 7 / 10
Date: February 07, 2007
Author: Amazon User

Sonic is a game that you should only rent. I've played a good handfull of PS3 games, such as resistance, madden, need for speed and tony hawk and none of these games were as hard as sonic is to master. I do not like the gameplay at all, text boxes get in the way, there are more than one action assigned to a certain control and sometimes the game freezes my playstation 3. There are many problems wrong with the Sonic game and i could probably go on. Half the time you don't even control sonic and he will fall off the track. SEGA should have spent a lot more time perfecting this game. The graphics, however, are a nice feature... state of the art graphics and the enemies are beatable. Those are the only two things I like about sonic. I stood it out and beat the game but it was hard. Final verdict- the game is a good game if you like to get mad because sonic won't do what you tell him to do. I've played a lot of PS3 games and this is by far the worst, besides marvel alliance.

Review Page: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next