PC - Windows : Microsoft Flight Simulator X: Acceleration Reviews

Gas Gauge: 83
Gas Gauge 83
Below are user reviews of Microsoft Flight Simulator X: Acceleration and on the right are links to professionally written reviews. The summary of review scores shows the distribution of scores given by the professional reviewers for Microsoft Flight Simulator X: Acceleration. Column height indicates the number of reviews with a score within the range shown at the bottom of the column. Higher scores (columns further towards the right) are better.

Summary of Review Scores

IGN 82
GameZone 84

User Reviews (1 - 11 of 31)

Show these reviews first:

Highest Rated
Lowest Rated
Most Helpful
Least Helpful

Caveat Emptor - Bring a Parachute - Save Often ( ; )

1 Rating: 1, Useful: 30 / 37
Date: November 17, 2007
Author: Amazon User

I chalked up the bad reviews to bone headed users and bought this...but I apologize, I was wrong and they were right after all. It's no fun at all if it won't work.

It installed with no issues. It fired up with no issues. Then random crashes sometimes 5 minutes into it, sometimes 15 minutes into it sometimes 30 seconds into it. Get the picture? FSX is now virtually unplayable on my rather high end system (3.0 core2 quad - 4GB RAM - 8800GTS 640 - 680i mobo, etc and running just fine before this, thank you very much). I thought they were on the right track after SP1 which was great (they should have waited until this was ready for the initial release). But this? FSX Accelerator! If I was an attorney...

Oh and dx10? A joke. I defy anyone to tell the difference between 9 and 10 to the naked eye (that is if you can get it to go for 5 minutes before it crashes. It doesn't look like the "artists rendition" we were all led on by. Trust me, you will be extremely disappointed.

I hope they stop socking each others ducks at Aces and Microsoft and get to work. Tell them to do their bloody job for heavens sake and stop stealing our money. Don't by this. Wait.

***UPDATE*** ***UPDATE***

All of a sudden FSX Accelerator started working properly. I have been able to fly for the last 2 days. Unfortunately I don't know why since I have changed nothing hard or soft and Microsoft updates 11/13 were already installed.

So far I like what I see though if I did not know DX10 was functioning I wouldn't have noticed, so that's still a disappointment.

Some of the missions now have cool little intro movies and most importantly my frame rates have not been hurt though I don't exactly see any improvement there either.

So I would move this up to 3 stars now and remove my warning. If things stay stable, maybe... well, we'll see. I can't give it 5 because of the DX10 and frame rate promises. No doubt idiot marketers hype as usual. When will they learn?

Fantastic Upgrade for Flight Simulator X

5 Rating: 5, Useful: 26 / 31
Date: October 29, 2007
Author: Amazon User

Microsoft Flight Simulator X Acceleration ExpansionLet me begin by saying that I'm an FSX newbie. I have only the basic FSX installed and have had it for only around a month now. There's an old pilot's saying, "if God had wanted men to fly, He would have made them rich", and I'm a walking testament to the truth of that saying. I earned my license in 1987, but it was just too expensive a hobby for me to continue trying to fly. Having been playing with FSX for the past few weeks now, I'm thrilled to be back in the air! I thought that I had it pretty good before installing the acceleration pack. But that was before I had an F-18 at my beck and call. WOW!!! My installation of the acceleration pack went reasonably flawlessly and the improvement is fantastic. New aircraft, many new missions to fly, what a deal! Oh, and did I mention that an F-18 Hornet comes with the pack? It flys like a dream! My only complaint is that I haven't figured out how to navigate with it yet. Anyway, I couldn't be more thrilled with the acceleration pack and got my new copy for only $24 from one of the Amazon merchants.

Install Failure

1 Rating: 1, Useful: 19 / 22
Date: November 08, 2007
Author: Amazon User

Expansion pack won't install - says it requires FSX to be installed first. It is. I can be flying a plane in FSX, and the Expansion Pack Installer says FSX isn't installed. The support rep did say they have been getting a lot of calls from people who are having problems installing the expansion pack...
Support Update: It's now December, and after a month of working directly with Microsoft Games Support, the problem appears to be caused by running 64 bit Vista Ultimate on an Intel Core 2 Quad processor. The base game, Flight Simulator X, does not install properly, and the expansion pack can't find it. I tried a single cpu system, running XP, and everything installs and runs fine, including the expansion pack.
When you install FSX, if the install screen says "IDS_WELCOME" and "IDS_CONTINSTALL" you've got a problem. Another symptom of a bad install is if the Add/Remove Program screen in Control Panel says "PRODUCT_NAME" instead of "Flight Simulator X". Microsoft does not appear to have a fix yet for the installer failure on 64 bit Vista. XP works fine.

Works for me!

4 Rating: 4, Useful: 9 / 10
Date: November 04, 2007
Author: Amazon User

Installed on Vista w/ FSX Pro. No problems installing, setting up, or running. Love the F-18 and carrier ops. It would be nice to be able to lock and fire missiles, but it's a start. It will be interesting to see what they do with the next version. I'm guessing it's either a world built out of satellite imagery, or more combat. Either way works for me.

Won't Recognize FSX Installation - Corrupted Disk Files

1 Rating: 1, Useful: 15 / 23
Date: October 26, 2007
Author: Amazon User

I have a legit FSX installation that has worked on the computer since the day of FSX introduction many months ago. I have SP1 installed as well with no issues.

I received this last night and installed.

1) I would not recognize my FSX installation. It gave an error message 2 seconds after beginning the install saying It could not install because no FSX was detected.

2) I tried running FSX after the failed install. IT WOULD NOT GET PAST THE MAIN MENU SCREEN. Rebooting the computer gave me a blue screen and CHKDISK running to delete corrupted orphan files. After the reboot, FSX would not run.

Acceleration took my system from working to non-working in the matter of seconds.

Others have had good luck, I have found some forum members with the same issue. I am not alone.

I will try repair and then will probably have to do a clean install of

UPDATE: Clean install worked. This allowed Acceleration to install.
Great new Airplanes (F18 and P-51)
Used up all my allowed FSX installs loading this. Now I cannot use my copy of FSX on a new computer in a few monts.

Acceleration May Slow You Down

1 Rating: 1, Useful: 11 / 15
Date: November 11, 2007
Author: Amazon User

First off - I am a huge Flight Simulator fan and have been for many years. With that said, this is a bit of a disappointment. I did not get any of the installation errors that others have reported. However, after installing Acceleration, the video quality of Flight Simulator dropped significantly. Before I was getting 30-40 FPS with very smooth motion. After "Acceleration", the graphics are just choppy - still getting the same frame rates, but panning the view around the aircraft now causes the graphics to move in steps rather than the fluid motion before. This is true not just on Acceleration content, but on all FSX content. Not sure what the installer did, but it wasn't good. Hopefully a patch or update from Microsoft will address this.

FS-X Problematic upgrade

1 Rating: 1, Useful: 10 / 13
Date: October 27, 2007
Author: Amazon User

Microsoft Flight Simulator X Acceleration ~ Don't do it!

My FS-X installation is legitimate and the computer was running the FS-X SP-1 with great success on Vista.

I purchased this product in order to take advantage of Direct-X 10.

I can't get past the "Product Key". It ask for it every time that I run the FS-X now, and after successfully registering, and getting the congratulatory message, it keeps asking for it -over and over, and over.

Poorly tested product.

Great Carrier Traps (with practice)

4 Rating: 4, Useful: 6 / 6
Date: November 08, 2007
Author: Amazon User

Purchased with idea that carrier ops would be better than FA-18, Electronic Arts, but found that aircraft is very unstable with slight control inputs particularly disconcerting on final. (Actual flying has to be more stable than this jiggling/rocking back and forth.) Also could use larger virtual cockpit fonts for AS, VSI and ALT. It could be that my Sidewinder stick does not mesh or that the Dell notebook graphics card (Radon 9000?) does not have enough throughput for the program. Also, Sidewinder "trim" buttons do not seem to work. When you do "trap" it is nice. Graphics are great. Just wish I could fix the stability problem. I have worked with the control sensitivity but that does not seem to help. May have to upgrade my equipment. Anyone with suggestions please do. Thanks. It would also be nice to have a small frame at the left of the screen so that I do not have to "pan" left to see the boat. Tom S+10 THIS PROGRAM IS A KEEPER!

Ho Hum

2 Rating: 2, Useful: 7 / 8
Date: November 21, 2007
Author: Amazon User

It isn't as bad as some have indicated, but unless you are dying to get an F/A-18, P-51 or another helicopter, you would probably do best to pass on this and wait for SP2 which is free.

I'm not going to mention the missions because I wish MS had omitted missions from Flight Simulator X, altogether. They are too game-like for anyone who takes the word simulator seriously.

Acceleration does add some minimal DX10 features, but nothing to get excited about. They call it DX10 Preview because it is a very small subset of what DX10 is capable of.

Lots of sizzle-NO STEAK

1 Rating: 1, Useful: 7 / 9
Date: November 03, 2007
Author: Amazon User

When Msft comes out with service pack for this I am sure it will be a lot of fun.

However, do not mess up your install of Flight Simulator X with this code.

Buggy, poorly written code that does not mesh well with FSM X. Stick to the tried and true Msft Flight Simulators 2004 and X. Leave this one to the next service pack. I purchased software from store X who will not refund money without major stress. Will put up on shelf and hope for a better day tomorrow.

Review Page: 1 2 3 4 Next