GameBoy Advance : Mario Kart Super Circuit Reviews

Gas Gauge: 89
Gas Gauge 89
Below are user reviews of Mario Kart Super Circuit and on the right are links to professionally written reviews. The summary of review scores shows the distribution of scores given by the professional reviewers for Mario Kart Super Circuit. Column height indicates the number of reviews with a score within the range shown at the bottom of the column. Higher scores (columns further towards the right) are better.

Summary of Review Scores

Game Spot 82
CVG 90
IGN 95

User Reviews (1 - 11 of 228)

Show these reviews first:

Highest Rated
Lowest Rated
Most Helpful
Least Helpful

Hands down, the best current game for the Game Boy Advance

5 Rating: 5, Useful: 143 / 161
Date: July 26, 2001
Author: Amazon User

Although this game is not being released in the US for another month, I bought the imported Japanese version a few days ago (it's called "Mario Kart Advance" overseas), and I have been absolutely enthralled by it ever since my purchase. The graphics are phenomenal and really show off the capabilities of the Game Boy Advance's 32 bit processor. The backgrounds are lush and vivid, and the individual cars are detailed nicely. The music and sound effects are great as well, and the gameplay is true to the classic Super Mario Kart. For those that have played both the Super NES version and the N64 version, I'd say that this game is a bit closer to the original SNES game (which I personally thought was a better game than the N64 sequel).

I'd also like to mention that this game blows away Konami's Krazy Racers. I own both games, and wish that I had saved my money and bought only Mario Kart. Mario Kart has so much more depth that it puts Krazy Racers to shame. Mario Kart is the best game I have played for the GB Advance so far (Castlevania COTM is a close second).

If you're looking for a great, challenging go-cart racing game, don't waste your time with the Konami clone: wait for a month and buy Mario Kart Super Circuit- you'll be glad you did!

Fantastic game, but it comes with a warning

5 Rating: 5, Useful: 11 / 11
Date: January 05, 2002
Author: Amazon User

Happy New Year everyone! I just received a Game Boy Advance as a Christmas present. I had some doubts about the Mario Kart series going hand-held, but, as a big fan of the series, I still decided to make this game the first of my new Game Boy Advance collection.

What a surprise! This game is actually just as good as its predecessors! With vibrant graphics, crisp sound, lots of tracks (so far I've discovered 24), tight play control, and all the characters from the past two Mario Kart games, the GBA Mario Kart is sure to keep the series alive and well!

The best all-new features in this game would have to be the never-before-seen tracks. They are remarkably imaginative and beautifully detailed (especially Sunset Wilds), and although they're not very long (the longest one takes about 2 minutes and 45 seconds to complete 3 laps), they're loaded with obstacles that range from the quicksand traps of the Yoshi Desert to the blind mice of Cheese Land. Also, the play control is not only precise and varied among the weight classes, but you can even feel it getting more difficult among the more difficult tracks. In Yoshi's Desert, for example, you can actually feel the quicksand trying to pull you in, so it gets even harder to maneuver around the already tight turns.

But let's not forget about the things we already know and love about the Mario Kart series. Some tracks are a blast from the past, too! After all, no Mario Kart game would be complete without Rainbow Road! Plus all your favorite characters are back, too: Mario, Luigi, Peach, Yoshi, Toad, Donkey Kong, Wario, and Bowser are once again racing for the finish line! And the items are back, too--you can once again drop banana peels, shoot your opponent with a shell (green, red, or blue), blast ahead of the pack with a mushroom or a Super Star, become invisible with a Boo, and zap your opponents with a lightning bolt!

So run, don't walk--or better yet, drive--to the nearest video game store and pick up this game! I'll see you at the finish line!

P.S. The "warning" that I mentioned is that this game owes a lot more to Super Mario Kart (for the SNES) than it does to Mario Kart 64. The tracks are very 2-D, just like an official race track. Therefore, fans of Mario Kart 64 might miss the hills and jumps of the Wario Stadium, or the mountains and valleys of Choco Mountain and Yoshi Valley.

Video Games Reviewer

4 Rating: 4, Useful: 11 / 12
Date: November 08, 2001
Author: Amazon User

Mario Kart: Super Circuit for GBA is a great character racing game. Players can choose from 8 different characters and race on up to 40 different tracks. 20 of the tracks on this cartage are newly created for this game, and once you master those tracks the other 20 tracks from the original Mario Kart on the Super Nintendo become available. What makes this game shine is that it has an infinite amount of replay value because of its ranking system and levels of difficulty. Depending on how many coins players pick up and what their times are on each track, they get a grade for their effort. The hardest grade to receive is a three star rating. This is a really hard rating. It will take a gamer a long time to get three stars for all 40 tracks on all three of the different difficulty levels. While this game has a lot to offer, the lack of a feeling of true speed is what kept me from giving this game a five star rating. It is an all around great game and one that should be in everyone's GBA library, but because of the lack of true speed, such as in F-Zero, and the mechanics of the power slide that were down graded from the N64 version, I am only able to give this game four stars.

Mario Kart Super Circuit

5 Rating: 5, Useful: 9 / 10
Date: December 02, 2001
Author: Amazon User

Mario Kart is awesome. It's very similar to the super nintendo and 64 versions so if you didn't like them don't get this game. The graphics for it are amazing. They're much better than the super nintendo version. And they're probably as good as the 64 version. It also has an excellent frame rate.
The game has three difficulty levels: 50cc, 100cc, and 150cc. 150cc is pretty hard so you probably won't be able to win those very soon after buying the game.
First you choose single or multiplayer (only with two to four gba's). Then you choose Mario GP, Time trial, or Quick Run. The time trail does have ghosts like the other Mario Karts. Quick run does't count for anything. Mario GP is the main type of game in Mario Super Circuit. In a Mario GP you choose a difficulty level then a character (Mario, Luigi, Yoshi, Princess, Toad, Wario, Donkey Kong, or Bowser). Then you choose a cup: mushroom, flower, lightning, star, or special(unlock by getting a gold in the other four). Each cup consists of four races which are all different from the ones in the other two versions.There are two new boo races and four new bowser races. There are 20 races, all new. Also in each cup of each difficulty level you get a medal(bronze, silver, or gold) and a rating (***, **, *, A, B, C, D, or E) based on how many coins you picked up. I love this game. There are endless posibilities. It is really hard to get a good rating so you can almost always do better. The best rating I've ever gotten was one star. Go buy this game. I recommend it for all ages.

Awsome Mario Kart Game ever!!!!!!!!!!!

5 Rating: 5, Useful: 7 / 7
Date: February 25, 2006
Author: Amazon User

I'd had that game since 2002 and then I lost it 4 years ago. I think thats along time. 4 years = 48 months. But I bought it on Febuary 24, 2006 with the help of my mom and my dad. Well we got that out of the way so lets talk about the gameboy game.

I love that game so much that I played that game all of the time.
It's the best 1 player game ever played on gameboy advance.
I liked to be Mario, Yoshi, Peach, and Donkey Kong.
I also like all of the courses on all of them.
It's the same as Mario Kart 64 except it's on gameboy advance though.

Mario Kart Super Circuit

5 Rating: 5, Useful: 9 / 11
Date: July 23, 2001
Author: Amazon User

Ok, let me just say that Mario Kart is awesome. Second, it wasn't based on the Nintendo 64 version. For those younguns out there the first version was on the SNES and it was called Super Mario Kart. Go ahead look it up. What the GBA version does is mix the two together for a totally new kind of racing experience. Forget Konami Krazy Racers. Mario Kart is the way to go. It has a kind of a Super Mario Kart 3D style but with a whole lot of graphics. Instead of the split screens when playing multiplayer like the older versions, when you play with other people you get your own screen so other people can't see what items you have. I would really recommend this to racers everywhere and especially those who like the previous Mario Karts.

Another Excellent Game Boy Advance Title

4 Rating: 4, Useful: 6 / 6
Date: September 08, 2001
Author: Amazon User

To begin with let me say I have not played Konami Racers - the other cart racer available for the advance. From what I hear, that is also an excellent title and you should probably check that out if you are interested in this one. I chose to get this one since I am more familiar with the nintendo cast of characters. You get to choose from: mario, luigi, princess peach, toad, yoshi, donkey kong, wario or bowser on a total of 20 tracks. In addition to 3 modes (quick race, time trial - where you try to beat your old best score on a single track, and gp - the race) you have the option of playing against others using the link cable. If you have only 1 cartrige your choice of track and character is limited (to 1) so if this is the main thing you want to do you may want to pick up 2 or look at konamis title. The game is adjustable in difficulty with 3 "cc" levels, the higher the more difficult and fast. The gameplay is awesome and it feels just like the old super nintendo title if you ever played that. The graphics are very sharp like most advance games, but one thing that makes mario cart stand out graphically is the bright colors. As a result of the colors it is not ALWAYS necessary to use a light source. That is a huge bonus. The only reason I am not giving this game 5 stars is since it lacks originality (face it we have seen this type of game on the gameboy already and this particular cart is a straight conversion of the old super nintendo game). With that said, this game makes an excellent purchase and will be fun for all ages, esp if you have someone to play against. So fire it up.


5 Rating: 5, Useful: 6 / 6
Date: September 20, 2001
Author: Amazon User

I have played numerous GBA games, and owned 5 over the course of the past 6 months. And there are only TWO I have had the urge to purchase/keep... Tony Hawk 2 and Mario Kart. This game is incredable. Dont expect somthing better than the 64 version, but this is LEAGUES ahead of its SNES counterpart. some complainers have mentioned "bad steering" and "impossible star cup races" I have found those to be stupid complaints. ALL the chars have different steering abilities, (the fat ones are the worst... a good steerer is Peach or Mario...) and the differnnt cups are ALL staggered... for example... I found 50 CC too easy... in 150 cc (the hardest level) I ONLY NOW [after a month) beat the whole GP mode... some courses are chalenging... this game balances EASY and HARD... and has LOTS to do all the time! even for a 5 min break you can race against yourself in timetrial... so you know what to expect, imagine a number line where SNES M kart is -10 and 64 M Kart is + 10 this game would prob be somewhere like -2. GRAPHICS are amazing! best I have seen on the GBA, maybe aside from Tony Hawk 2 good sound, medichore 3d levels (like the SNES...)


Easily the most addictive game for the GBA.

5 Rating: 5, Useful: 6 / 6
Date: March 23, 2002
Author: Amazon User

One of the reasons I dug my old SNES out of storage was to play Mario Kart again. It was more fun than should be legal. Now there is "Super Circuit", a game very similar, but with a few differences, to the SNES classic.

The track designs are upgraded, with more of a 3D feel to them. The Bowser's Castle areas look more like those out of Mario 64 than Mario Kart. The rich texturing and colorful animation take full advantage of the GBA's capacity (which is more powerful than the SNES, believe it or not). Too prevent the total deja-vu for older games, the track layouts are different, with more tracks, different objects to use both offensively and defensively, and a host of new challenges. This is a major plus because I beat the old Mario Kart in evey way possible. It is nice to have some new fun with an old concept.

The music is superb, and the sound effects are classic Mario. As usual, you have a bunch of characters to choose from, including Mario, Luigi, Princess, Bowser, DK, Toad and others. A nice addition is that each character is rated according to speed and weight, so you can be more informed about which racer to choose. The controls are easy to master, and allow for fluid control while driving on the circuit. For gamers on the go, I cannot think of a more fun game.

Overall, this is one of the benchmark games for the GBA, and one that ensures many hours of fun and quality game time. Anyone who has played the older Mario Kart will adore this, gamers new to it will love it just the same.

The Circuit Is Really Heatin' Up!

5 Rating: 5, Useful: 6 / 6
Date: September 20, 2003
Author: Amazon User

I have had Mario Kart Super Circuit for quite some time now, but just recently I wrote this review. This is a truly outstanding game that I'm sure everybody will enjoy. There are plenty of different game modes and characters to keep you satisfied for quite a while. You can select from one of five different cups to race in, plus one unlockable SNES version of the cup. You can also choose the difficulty level. From highest to lowest they are: 150cc, 100cc, and 50cc. Try to beat every track in every cup on every skill level.

Now, for those of you who don't usually select the Racing Genre, I think this should be an exception. I'm more of an Action/Adventure type of guy, but I tested this game at Target and fell in love with it. It's a great game for people of all ages as well as for people that don't normally enjoy the racing genre...If you buy this, it's a game I'm sure you'll never forget.

Review Page: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next