PC - Windows : Sims 2, The Reviews

Gas Gauge: 90
Gas Gauge 90
Below are user reviews of Sims 2, The and on the right are links to professionally written reviews. The summary of review scores shows the distribution of scores given by the professional reviewers for Sims 2, The. Column height indicates the number of reviews with a score within the range shown at the bottom of the column. Higher scores (columns further towards the right) are better.

Summary of Review Scores

Game Spot 89
GamesRadar 90
CVG 82
IGN 94
GameSpy 100
GameZone 94
Game Revolution 80
1UP 95

User Reviews (1 - 11 of 601)

Show these reviews first:

Highest Rated
Lowest Rated
Most Helpful
Least Helpful

Anti-piracy gone too far + warning

1 Rating: 1, Useful: 26 / 37
Date: September 17, 2004
Author: Amazon User

I couldn't wait to get this game. I loved The original Sims and knew this would be even better.

However - I, like a lot of other people who have purchased the game, can't play it. The anti-piracy software is so restrictive that unless you strip down your system's software (ie Nero CD Burning software among others) and possibly hardware (CD/DVD burner) the program will not run. It will install but you cannot start the game. If Maxis wants to alienate their fans, they've done a great job. I'm already in the process of returning the software until Maxis can do better than this.

EA games has very unfriendly customer service

1 Rating: 1, Useful: 19 / 53
Date: December 05, 2005
Author: Amazon User

Just so you know, if you buy this game (or any other EA game) for your children, you cannot make a back-up copy of the game. And if your child happens to scratch the disk (which, seeing as they are kids, is a possibility), it'll cost you a ridiculous $13 to replace it.

This happened to me. The people I spoke to at EA games were extremely unfriendly. When I asked why it was so expensive to replace 1 CD, I was told that they are charging me for the software again (even though I already paid for that when I bought the game originally).

Apparently it is their 'company policy' to rip off their customers.

After I was told this by a 'warranty person', I called again to speak to an operator.
The operator I had on the phone refused to put me through to someone who could take down a complaint, and actually hung up on me!


1 Rating: 1, Useful: 19 / 35
Date: November 01, 2004
Author: Amazon User

This game would be awesome IF IT WORKED!!! I would probably give the game 5 stars IF it did. I got the game as a gift and like alot(thousands)of other people I am extremly dissapointed with this game..I mean BUG! My PC exceeds the recommended requirements and it crashed everytime. It WILL crash anywhere from 30 seconds to 60 minutes into the game. It will sometimes crash Windows entirely(I have XP!)I've tried every video driver out there to no avail. Maxis says they're aware of the problem that "some" people are having and are supposedly working on a patch. I'd bet the farm EVERYONE is having a problem. HEY MAXIS, HOW ABOUT THIS FOR A CONCEPT, TRY TESTING YOUR STUFF BEFORE RELEASE!! NO ONE WANTS A BUG FOR A GAME! I'm glad I didn't spend my hard earned cash on this trash.

I Don't Believe It!

1 Rating: 1, Useful: 16 / 55
Date: October 14, 2003
Author: Amazon User

[I'm not under 13, but I thought it safer to post here]
Until the game is actually released, no one can honestly rate the game nor boast of it's "greatness". Ideally, the game description is what every Sim fan dreams about. Anyone who has played The Sims(orginal), and bought into each of the expansion packs knows there were bugs (major bugs)with every pack...obvious problems that could've been corrected prior to release. Maxis patched some problems, but not all (those without the Internet are out of luck completely). Maxis posted add-ons online--many of which contained bugs themselves. Instead they want everyone to toss aside their $240+ investment, start over & buy The Sims 2. From their track record, I believe it will have many bugs & will not work as described (if you think your gameplay is slow now, you best buy the latest, best & most expensive PC now, so you might be able to play the game as it's described). If the game still isn't "great", just wait, maybe Maxis will issue a patch in The Sims 2 Expansion Packs...maybe. BTW, go ahead & toss out all your user created objects as well--Maxis will change the format of things & your fav objects won't work. People will buy, Maxis will get rich, there will be bugs, and the fad will die. Just my thoughts...

It was a blast until it became unplayable!

1 Rating: 1, Useful: 18 / 22
Date: October 18, 2004
Author: Amazon User

This game was everything everyone says it is. A great sequal, just as addicting as the original, and so on. Until I ran into what is being called the "Jumping Bug" on the official Sims 2 BBS. If you play with a family too long and they accumulate too many memories (over 200) they get a bug that makes the game virtually unplayable. They can't chat in any way with another Sim and can't do any activities with another Sim where they would normally chat (eating at a table, watching TV, sitting in a hot tub, talking on the phone, the list goes on and on). Maxis knows about the problem but will give no indication on when a soluation can be expected. Instead, they imply it was something the user caused by using the cheat to turn aging off. However, that is not what causes it. Simply playing the game normally will eventually cause this problem and render it unplayable.

Don't waste your money on this game until Maxis has fixed this problem! It's only a waste of money and your time playing the game when you develop a family to a certain point only to no longer be able to play with them.

Bad Purchase

1 Rating: 1, Useful: 16 / 25
Date: September 25, 2004
Author: Amazon User

While this game may be fun for those who can get it to work, my advice is to buy it at the start of a weekend from a brick and mortar store. That will give you time to stop payment on your credit card/check if it doesn't work. For the brave ones out there, be ready to do lots of updating to your p/c just to see if it will work for you. Meeting the minimum requirements does NOT mean this game will play. Check out the BBS at www.thesims2.com to see just how many unfulfilled game players there are. My recommendations ......... wait a few more months till EA solves some of the problems with this game before putting any of your money on it. If you have no technical know-how, stay away all together.

Disappointment for me

1 Rating: 1, Useful: 18 / 24
Date: February 11, 2005
Author: Amazon User

I agree with the person who said Sims 2 was a disappointment, but I'd like to go into more detail.

1) Yes, it does have some nice features:
*ability to build third floor on houses
*watching babies grow up

2) But it's one step forward and three giant steps backwards. The objects package is minimal. Many of the things that true Simmers got used to in the original are no longer available. I'm sure some of them will come back with Sims 2 expansions, but that's not good enough. They should be included. Most of us already paid for them. What comes with the new expansion packs should be "new".

3) The aging feature is as much a curse as an improvement. Your Sims age quickly, and if you're not careful, they die off. When I played, I found myself turning off that feature.

4) Not much fun. I realize it's the base package and that there will be more with new expansions, but I wanted more in the basic game on the new platform. I don't like starting from scratch when I already spent a fortune on the original Sims and all its expansions.

Frankly, I've gone back to the original and expansion packs. I won't buy any expansions for Sims 2 for some time. The original is just WAY more fun. There's really not too much to do in Sims 2 except watch people age. And the interaction seems to be centered around the teens, not the adults, which is why I think they developed the university expansion. They are catering to the teen buyers. Nothing interesting for adults.

You can have Sims 2. I'll play the original.

Not worth the money or the effort

1 Rating: 1, Useful: 17 / 30
Date: May 02, 2005
Author: Amazon User

Check your system specs before buying this game... Otherwise you'll end up just like me: With the game collecting dust in my desk, because it crashes too often. I wouldn't complain if my machine didn't meet the sist requirements... But this isn't the case.

Syst requirements/My comp

Intel Pentium III OR Athlon/Pentium 4

256 MB of Ram/512 RAM

3.5 GB HD space/160 GB

32 MB Video Card/128 MB Nvidia Gforce 4 card

I can play it for a small while, maybe 30-35 minutes, but then the game locks up. What's worse, since I bought my computer at Emachines, it doesn't have a restart button, so I have to disconect the electricity and then turn it on again. I don't play it anymore, disconecting it so frequently could damage it.

May I add that the game has 4 CD's (And you still need one to run the game, which makes no sense) but it doesn't come in a jewel case. Instead they come in this small slot in the tiny box. So if you don't treat it like porcelain the CD's will break, which is what happened to me. I downloaded a no-CD-patch... but I still don't use it.

If you have a really good computer... buy it. Just remember to treat the box well, and save the game every time you do something important.

An honest review

1 Rating: 1, Useful: 16 / 25
Date: November 20, 2005
Author: Amazon User

(I'm not a kid- just didn't want to go trough the hassle of registering. Hope you don't mind)

Yep, that's right. Hold tight, you're about to read the only honest review of the Sims 2.

Min requirements-my machine:

Windows XP/98/2000 etc-Windows XP home edition, only 3 resident programs running in the background (Average PC usage of 2-3%, 4% at max) clean of spyware and viruses (It doesn't have an internet connection to be even safer, I use my laptop to surf the web)

800Mhz-3006 Mhz

256 MB of memory-1 GB

3.5 of free MB- 160 MB free

32 MB Graphics card- 256 MB Nvidia Gforce PCI card (with latest drivers installed)

(things like keyboard, mouse, etc irrelevant.)

The game runs at a crawl-like speed, with occasional hippcups that sometimes end in a total stalemate of the game. I had to pull the plug several times to restart my computer. Reducing the graphics quality would reduce the frequency of the hiccups, but sadly only moderately. The mouse lag was so much that I could barely see my cursor. This and the game speed were unaffected by the level of graphic details no matter how much I tweaked the settings.

E-mails to EA asking for tech support have not been answered. I have avoided using their tech support phone line as they want to tax me 5 us$ p/ minute, and having a lot of experience with tech support phone lines, I can tell that they will start with questions like "Is your computer turned on?" and I have already paid too much money for a product I can't use.

You have been warned; the min. Requirements in the box are COMPLETELY made up.

Be careful

1 Rating: 1, Useful: 14 / 27
Date: September 17, 2004
Author: Amazon User

Unless you have a brand new computer or very updated one, this game will not work. Will cause a lot of hours of fustration to get it installed just to learn that it will not play. Be very careful purchasing this item.

Review Page: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next