PC - Windows : Sims 2, The Reviews

Gas Gauge: 90
Gas Gauge 90
Below are user reviews of Sims 2, The and on the right are links to professionally written reviews. The summary of review scores shows the distribution of scores given by the professional reviewers for Sims 2, The. Column height indicates the number of reviews with a score within the range shown at the bottom of the column. Higher scores (columns further towards the right) are better.

Summary of Review Scores

Game Spot 89
GamesRadar 90
CVG 82
IGN 94
GameSpy 100
GameZone 94
Game Revolution 80
1UP 95

User Reviews (61 - 71 of 601)

Show these reviews first:

Highest Rated
Lowest Rated
Most Helpful
Least Helpful

Sim-ply the Best

5 Rating: 5, Useful: 15 / 17
Date: September 19, 2004
Author: Amazon User

My game came via UPS a few days ago, and I've been enjoying it since. I only wish I had more time to play it! For those who say you need a new computer to play it, my computer is almost two years old. Before the game came out, I checked the requirements and found out my computer met the requirements. You just need a computer with a good video card, that can handle the latest graphics, and a high speed processor. So far, I haven't had any problems with game play.

The 3-D graphics take some getting used to, especially when decorating, because you kind of have to work your way around the stuff you've already placed. Fortunately, someone at EA thought to include a "top-down" view option, so you can look straight down on the house, which makes decorating much easier. I'm still finding my way around in the game and trying out the new features, but as a long time player of the first version of the Sims, I had no trouble getting started.

I might have more to say after playing for a while. So far my Sims have not aged, or had children.

all technical issues aside...

5 Rating: 5, Useful: 15 / 17
Date: October 06, 2004
Author: Amazon User

It seems most of people's ratings here are affected by how badly the game runs on their computer. This is a very demanding game, with huge requirements for your computer. That is only to be expected. I mean, think of all the interactions and customizations that you can do in Sims 2. If that doesn't take up a lot of computing power, I don't know what does. Anyway, I was like that with the original Sims. Didn't play well on my laptop, so I sold it to a friend. Later, when I got a more powerful desktop and a complimentary copy of the Sims, I discovered just how great this game is. So when Sims 2 was running slow on my computer, I went out and got an ATI Radeon 9200 graphics card (my computer originally had Intel Extreme, which doesn't run the game really well unless you have 2 gigs of processing power). Now my game works like a dream, and I must say, it's definitely better than the original because there are simply more options to play with. I'm one of those people who would lose track of time playing this game (not good if you're busy with other stuff). Having an entire generation of Sims, with the same genes and all, is really something. The parent-child interactions are great, such as cuddling and snuggling babies and toddlers (interactions with them can influence their lifelong personalities). I especially love it when my parent Sim comes home from work and the child Sim would drop everything he's doing to rush out and give his dad/mom a hug.
The only downside to Sims 2 is that compared to the original Sims, it doesn't have a lot of...supplementary stuff, such as downloadable user objects and expansion packs. It probably will in the near future. Right now, it's kind of tiring using the same items all the time (although they do vary in color), but I like to think of it as an opportunity to really develop my Sims instead of focusing on building houses and shopping centers, etc.
Overall, this is a great game, and it'll get even better because it'll evolve with downloadable user objects and expansion packs. It's sad that a lot of people give this game a low rating because of things such as computer problems.

Fun, while your sim is alive that is ...

4 Rating: 4, Useful: 15 / 17
Date: October 15, 2004
Author: Amazon User

I had waited forever for the Sims 2 to come out, and when my boyfriend bought it for me I could hardly contain myself. My computer handles the game just fine (512 mb ram, 2.8 ghz, 60 gb, ati radeon 9800 pro). I had great fun customizing my sim's body and facial features, in fact I spent the most time doing this. The aspiration meter is an interesting new feature, as well as being able to earn vacation days from work, being able to travel around town and buy things, etc. The graphics are stunning, the detail is great. I had a lot of fun the first 2 days I played the game. But I will be totally honest here - I got bored after those 2 days. My sim aged way too fast so I felt rushed to get her married and have a baby before she died. She did get married but no baby. She was able to advance in her career way too fast (just like in Sims 1) and thus she never got her days off because her work schedule kept changing as did her work hours. After day 3, I actually felt like I had "beaten" the game because I'd filled my aspiration meter, climbed to the top of the career ladder, gotten married, and she died a happy old woman. I haven't played it since. To some people, watching your sim age is super cool and great fun. To me, when my sim died, the game was over - finito. In sum, it's an intriguing game while your sim lasts. After that, I lost interest.

Look's like the best game of 2004 is here!

5 Rating: 5, Useful: 13 / 14
Date: March 24, 2004
Author: Amazon User

Ok, im gonna help out all of you waiting fans out there. My dad's friend is one of the 3-D designers for maxis (no joke)and he let me test out the small bits and pieces that have been created. So here goes what i was aloud to test drive.

So, first thing you do is creat your sim (no duh.)So far there are about 100 hair styles and bodies, and still counting! And you don't have to choose from only three skin colors. There's a little bar on one of the screens that lets you choose the shade from pure white to extream black. It takes almost 10 minutes to make one person.

Ok, so now you choose the house, from not just one neighborhood, but 20, all complete with houses a'pleanty. So they had a mansion as the first one, that three story one you see in all the pictures. All furnished and ready to go. One of the rooms in it, the "rich room," there was a wide plasma screen that looked just like the one in our house.

Honestly, the graphics that were just WOW! There are reflections on mirrors, shadows of furniture, and the new close-up view puts your sims right in front instead of the "view from space" aspect. And there are almost no boandries between the interactions of your sims and others.

I'l try to post more tid-bits when my parents aren't around, but because its not out yet they made me promise not to go telling all my friends. But what they don't know wont hurt 'em... right?


The All New, SIMS 2!!!

5 Rating: 5, Useful: 11 / 11
Date: March 11, 2004
Author: Amazon User

Ohh... My... God..., i cannot believe how damn realistic this game really is gonna be lifestyle wise. If your sims "do it", the female (the wife or girlfriend etc) will actually fall pregnant having actual nine months of pregnancy, and all the sims that the mother has, goes from this age "0" to this age "100" or maybe even higher, then they die.

And they grow up gradually to, just like we do. They go from infants, toddlers, kids, teenagers, adults, and then geezers (the way the game puts it), and they act and see things in each of those points in time of their life, as you would. And your sims are now more self motivated, like for eg. they might feel hungry so they will grab themselves something to eat, unlike the original "The Sims" where you pretty much had to tell them to go and have a frigen shower if they were dirty, ALL THE FRIGEN TIME... in which was pissin' me off to be quite honest, lol. But any wayz.

Also you can, build up to 4 story houses (an underground level, being the basement, and 3 levels above ground, as far as i know). You can make your house a Bachelor Pad, Commune (which is your sims cousins, relatives, friends etc, that you wouldn't mind "your orginal family sims" living with, under the same roof), or just a normal house (Just the original family, and no one else living in it).

Your sims can also have sleep overs, from when they're a kid to a teen (I'd recommend them only sleep over, when they're kids) but at any age if you wish. Job wise, you can get a job, get to the top, and when you do, you get a special package or reward, also when your sims get promoted they get to wear different clothes, to represent their position in the job, and for adults i think there are 7 types of jobs for adults, and teenagers 3 (part-time for teens) as far as i know. You also get to make and create your own, furniture from scratch, WHICH IS AWESOME!!!

If you want your sims to move house, then anything they own, will be taken with them to the next house, but KEEP IN MIND, when your sims move to the next house you want them to live in, that house will be classed as a holiday house, so you'd get other sims living with your family as well. Pets, well sadly enough, i've heard from many ppl that there aren't any, but any way, maybe they might make an expansion pack for "The Sims 2", that will have pets in it. And lastly, the sims aren't dumb, and just put it this way, they would act, react and feel to things like you and me would (like humans).

And last but not least, believe it or not, there are privacy and law factors as well, your sims can spy, stalk, steal, etc. Your sims (if aren't brought up well or something) look into other peoples, privacy and break the law and all that stuff, will get found out, and then go to prison, for quite some time, you know just everything is pretty much REAL, except for maybe the graphics and the way they do things a bit, but other than that its REALISTIC. And i fully 100% recommend you get this game as one of your first preferences, before you buy any other (as fast as you can), infact i'd recommend going and preordering it right now... seriously.

But there is just one prob computer wise, and the only thing i can help you with is the program, you need your computer to have one of the following, Microsoft Windows 98, Microsoft Windows Millenium (or Microsoft Windows Me), Microsoft Windows XP and there is another one but i'll find asap, and then update this review. And Also guyz BE PATIENT, just think the longer we have to wait, the less chance there is of "Computer BUGS, or VIRUSES in the game. Thx... lol.

Caveat emptor!

2 Rating: 2, Useful: 14 / 16
Date: November 02, 2004
Author: Amazon User

Buyer beware is the message here. I absolutely love this game and am totally addicted to it but be forewarned it is FULL of bugs. There is a jumping bug that develops that makes your sims unable to interact with each other and objects without "jumping out" of them. This is happening to players after playing and working perfectly for awhile. If you go to a Sims message boards it is jammed full of people with this problem. It looks like it may be a long time before it is patched as well. This bug makes it impossible for some people to play the game. There are lots of people with the game on their shelves unable to play until a patch comes out.

Sound like the best game ever

4 Rating: 4, Useful: 19 / 25
Date: July 18, 2004
Author: Amazon User

The sims2 sounds like the coolest game. There are many new things making it way better than the sims1. Here is a list of some of the cool new things.
Your sims now age. They are a baby, toddler, kid, teen, adult, and elder.
The sims have birthday's now.
Since the sims age, they can die of old age.
Houses can now have more than two stories. There can be 3 stories and an attic.
You can change the sims hair style and make-up using a mirror.
There are community lots where you can shop for clothes and groceries or go to the pool.
Getting married is a much bigger thing.
There are weekends so kids and adults can get time off from work and school.
Sims have fears and wants.
They remember their first kiss, marriage, things like that.
Everything is in 3D.
There is a new film making option where you can get on tape what happens at a part of their life.
The camera is way better. You can see and take pictures at many different angles. Even in the pool!
You can marry the maid, burgler, firefighter, ect.
If your sim gets bad grade, he/she doesn't have to go to military school.
More social interactions including family hug (or was it kiss?).
The sims can cook many different meals.

Well I hope this helps you out. Just to let you know Maxis will be making a sims3. (I only gave it 4 out of 5 stars because the isn't out yet).

Yes, I've never played it, but JUST LISTEN!

5 Rating: 5, Useful: 15 / 18
Date: September 11, 2004
Author: Amazon User

Yes, it is ridiculous to give five stars to a game that hasn't been released yet. It's also equally ridiculous to give the same game one star. And if you complain about the $50 asking price for the game, then you've never bought a computer game in your life. Also, why should The Sims 2 and its expansion packs be AT ALL compatible with the first Sims or its expansion packs? The first Sims was released FOUR years ago. Sure, it was great, but you really need to move on. And if you complain about the system requirements, stop whining, because they're NOTHING compared to Doom 3. Besides, if your system can't handle The Sims 2, it might be time to upgrade even if you're not buying it.

I think The Sims 2 will be great. The crew at Maxis has been promising great things. Just go over to the official Sims 2 website and read the chat transcripts in the Community section if you still have your doubts. Everything from the first Sims has been completely revamped. The new Create-A-Sim mode lets you create anyone you want with ease, whether it be you, Gwyneth Paltrow, Mr. Spock from Star Trek, or whatever. You can build a three-story house, not counting the attic and basement, rather than the old two-story deal. The sims have fears, wants, and aspirations. I could go on, but you probably get the idea.

I hoped this helped some of you. I refuse to give this game a rating prior to its release, but I was forced to, so the five stars are for the utter respect I have for the Sims franchise.

So much potential . .

2 Rating: 2, Useful: 12 / 13
Date: November 03, 2004
Author: Amazon User

I normally don't write reviews, but this time I felt it was important. The Sims 2 is a GREAT concept, I really enjoy playing the game, but the minimum system requirements listed on the box are completely made up. If you want to be able to enjoy this game, you need at least 512MB of RAM and a GeForce 3 or better or Radeon 7200 or better video card with at least 128MB of RAM. You should also have a fast CPU. 800mhz might work for you, if you don't mind choppy game play and you add in some extra RAM and/or a better video card. Trust me. This game cost me $200 after I did all the necessary hardware upgrades to play it, and my system met their minimum specs before I started.

Disappointment for me

1 Rating: 1, Useful: 18 / 24
Date: February 11, 2005
Author: Amazon User

I agree with the person who said Sims 2 was a disappointment, but I'd like to go into more detail.

1) Yes, it does have some nice features:
*ability to build third floor on houses
*watching babies grow up

2) But it's one step forward and three giant steps backwards. The objects package is minimal. Many of the things that true Simmers got used to in the original are no longer available. I'm sure some of them will come back with Sims 2 expansions, but that's not good enough. They should be included. Most of us already paid for them. What comes with the new expansion packs should be "new".

3) The aging feature is as much a curse as an improvement. Your Sims age quickly, and if you're not careful, they die off. When I played, I found myself turning off that feature.

4) Not much fun. I realize it's the base package and that there will be more with new expansions, but I wanted more in the basic game on the new platform. I don't like starting from scratch when I already spent a fortune on the original Sims and all its expansions.

Frankly, I've gone back to the original and expansion packs. I won't buy any expansions for Sims 2 for some time. The original is just WAY more fun. There's really not too much to do in Sims 2 except watch people age. And the interaction seems to be centered around the teens, not the adults, which is why I think they developed the university expansion. They are catering to the teen buyers. Nothing interesting for adults.

You can have Sims 2. I'll play the original.

Review Page: Previous 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next