Game Cube : Super Mario Sunshine Reviews

Gas Gauge: 91
Gas Gauge 91
Below are user reviews of Super Mario Sunshine and on the right are links to professionally written reviews. The summary of review scores shows the distribution of scores given by the professional reviewers for Super Mario Sunshine. Column height indicates the number of reviews with a score within the range shown at the bottom of the column. Higher scores (columns further towards the right) are better.

Summary of Review Scores

Game Spot 80
Game FAQs
GamesRadar 90
CVG 100
IGN 94
GameSpy 100
Game Revolution 85

User Reviews (51 - 61 of 460)

Show these reviews first:

Highest Rated
Lowest Rated
Most Helpful
Least Helpful

The Mustacchioed Man is Back!

5 Rating: 5, Useful: 5 / 7
Date: February 20, 2005
Author: Amazon User

Mario 64 meets the Gamecube. If you played Mario 64 and loved collecting the stars and entering different worlds all the time, then you'll love this. It's essentially the same game, new worlds. If you haven't had the chance to play Mario 64 and are wondering if you'll enjoy this, I direct your attention to any of the other detailed reviews listed. However, I highly doubt you'd walk away disappointed after playing this game.

Not fulfilling, but temporary fun

3 Rating: 3, Useful: 4 / 5
Date: December 16, 2002
Author: Amazon User

As a fan of the Super Mario 64, I figured that this new Mario game would be just as fun. But apparently, in the 6 years since the last game, the makers decided that a harder game is more enjoyable. The tropical island graphics are beautiful and when you play it you really feel like you're at an island resort. Also, the music in the different levels is upbeat and doesn't get old even when you hear it a hundred times. The downfall of this game lies in its newfound difficulty. It's entirely too frustrating and almost impossible to figure out every little detail of each level without a guide, and I am a strong believer that when you have to have a guide in order to be able to play a game, it just isn't fun. If you are one of those rare people with eons of time to spare, then perhaps you can beat this game, but otherwise, tough luck. In the beginning, I was in love with the game, but once I completed all the easier levels, I was in a rut. I would turn the game on and say, "Ok what do I want to do now? The level in that world that I'm entirely too frustrated with or the other level in the other world that I'm entirely too frustrated with?" After a while, I just stopped putting that game into my gamecube. It is a quality game and the detailed worlds and the new addition of playable Yoshis is exciting, but this game just doesn't have the addictive power that keeps me coming back.

Last time I played a new Mario game was 7 years ago.

3 Rating: 3, Useful: 4 / 5
Date: March 01, 2003
Author: Amazon User

Rated 3.4
After six looong years past without a new Mario videogame, Miyamoto finally decides to grace us with another. If you were aching to get back in the mushroom kingdom (which the 'me generation' may recall as Mario's hometown and today's generation are unaware of), too bad! He's on vacation! It's a lot similar in form to Mario 64. The island is the Hub world, upon which levels are placed. They are fun, inventive levels and have a fair amount of different missions in each. I dislike the addition and reliance on the water cannon, which detracts from the simplicity and most all of the problem solving requires it's use. I hated having to beat on the same Octopuss, who kept coming back. Some of the this gameplay is like busywork, we've all done it before (except today's generation, which does not remember 'Mario'). The game seems to borrow a lot of Sonic's style and with less Mario characters around, it's like a different game, we get a lot of what we craved but some ideas are better suited to new franchises, instead of changing the format. Is this title enough to single-handedly prolong Mario's popularity for another 6-7 years or a decade? Absolutely not. I think if you buy a Gamecube and support Nintendo for 300 dollars (Canadian, as I did) or less than you deserve to get at least 3 full games of each major Nintendo character, if that means Miyamoto can't handle them all, fine, set up new dev. teams, but there's no excuse for the slack they've displayed on N64 and look like they're repeating now. I don't want excuses, I want games.

SuperMarioSunshine: typical game

4 Rating: 4, Useful: 4 / 5
Date: July 14, 2003
Author: Amazon User

Super mario is know for it's long legacy in nintendo. From the NES all the way to the gamecube it has chaged the way we look at video games. Super mario sunshine is no exception. The greatest things about this game is it's graphics, it's gameplay and it's story. The graphics in this game are one of the best I have seen in a long time. It has vibrant colors such as pink, purple and orange(the colors of Yoshi). Everything is taken into consideration for the gaphics. The graphics are so detailed you can see a shoadow on every creature or inhabitant on isle Delfino. Another good thing about the game is it's story. Unlike Mario 64 it has a working story-line which this: When Mario arrives on Isle Delfino, the once pristine island has been pollutted with graffiti. Even worse Mario has been blamed for the mess!!! Now Mario has to clean up and hunt down the real culpret. Personally I like the addition of Mario's water pack(FLUUD). The bad things about this game are it's levels(not enough)and it's difficulty(too easy). Overall this game is not for everyone but it is very fun to play.


5 Rating: 5, Useful: 4 / 5
Date: July 31, 2004
Author: Amazon User


Not what I expected

2 Rating: 2, Useful: 4 / 5
Date: February 01, 2005
Author: Amazon User

I was anticipating the release of this game thinking it would be a groundbreaker for the mario series.Instead what a got was a swift kick to the face!

OmGz DiS gAmE sUxs.Mario 64 made this game look like a complete joke.

The graphics werent impressive or innovative.Too much use of colors gave me a seizure.I hated how every level had these Isle Delfino characters wandering about.For god sakes, Im trying to concentrate on my mission, stop wandering around distracting me with gibberish dialouge.

Overall the missions were near impossible to beat, and frustrating to play.The controls were loose and unresponsive, compared to Mario 64.

If this game was aimed towards kids, then why the hell would they make the levels so challenging?

Heres my breif opinion:


- Cant think of any, really.


- Wayy to challenging levels

- Repetitive levels - - - enough water already.Wheres the variety?

- Enemies look awfully friendly

- Too linear mission objectives.They dont give you a choice of collecting other stars rather than the one they tell you to.(Referring to Mario 64)

- Horrible camera angles.

- Impossible to beat missions

- Bad controls, and missing the long jump move

- Blinded by the aray of colors

- Damn those annoying Isle delfino palm tree heads

I wouldnt even rent this game.Its that bad.

Good, but best suited for younger gamers.

4 Rating: 4, Useful: 4 / 5
Date: August 02, 2005
Author: Amazon User

I'm gonna get a whole bunch of unhelpful votes when people don't like this review. But did anybody notice that the review at the very top which has the most amount of helpful votes for this game was actually written before the game came out. Even the guy says he is awaiting it, as in HE'S NEVER PLAYED IT!
Overall, Super Mario Sunshine is a solid game. From its breathtaking visuals, to its large environments, solid length and gameplay, it's very good. But it feels a bit kiddy. Now I know, people don't like it when Nintendo is referred to in this way, but that was the immediate feeling I got after playing the first few levels. If you actually think about it, THE GAME IS ONE BIG FETCH QUEST! My 8 year old brother loves the game so far, but I've found myself questioning how fun it is. I'd recommend getting it for younger gamers or for those obscene Nintendo Fanboys who insist that their games aren't kiddy. I'm not saying it's bad. Quite the contrary, I wouldn't be giving it 4 stars if I did. But older gamers will be wondering what all the fuss is about collecting some stars, and wondering why Mario just doesn't blast all those stupid island dwellers with the water and fly away.

SUPER, Mario...

5 Rating: 5, Useful: 3 / 3
Date: September 08, 2002
Author: Amazon User

SUper Mario Sunshine has to be the most anticipated game for Gamecube., and it delivers. The story goes like this. After escaping King Boo mario goes on a vacation on the beautiful island of Isle Delfino. But when the plane almost crah lands into "icky paint like goop" there is something to feel suspicious. In the background they saw a silhouette(however you spell that) of Mario. Mario then finds a FLUDD(the water pack. Mario gets arrested because the islanders think that he's to blame for polluting there island. They go to court and the judge tells Mario that he can't go back home until he cleans u-p the island. The polluting sludges up then shine gate, the shine gate is where all the shines gather. Shines give power and light to Isle Delfino. Thus begins Super Mario Sunshine, my favorite Mario game ever...

Mario Sunshines gameplay is complex and challenging. little kids couldn't beat this game with ease because even to an experienced gamer this game is extremely challenging. There are, well I think there are 10 levels(I haven't unlocked all of them. There are I think 110 shine sprites, and with in a level there are 8 episodes. Each episode has a different challenge to get a different shine sprite. There are Yoshis also so saddle up. To get a shine sprite you need to complete a different task with in an episode with in a level. The challenges can be simple and easy, or complex and difficult. The bosses are really fun to batle, some easy and some hard There are also new enemies and new allies including the electric koopas mud monsters etc. and for the allies Nokis and Piantas.

The controlls of the game are really good. Here are the controlls for Mario... A is to jump. A and L is the ground pound. To spin jump you must run in tight circles the press the a button. To squirt press R to switch nozzles press the X button and to view through Marios eyes in 360 degrees(or the Mario cam) press the Y button. Press the B button to talk to the islanders. When you get Yoshi and when you are on his back here are the controlls... A jump, B eat/talk and all the reest that Mario has. Overall the controlls are really really good in my opinion...

The graphics are very well done. They might not be the greatest in the world but they are great. It's so collerful and beautiful. Awesome textures although I hate when you go to close to something you can see right through... BOY DO I HATE THAT. But oh well...

Mario Sunshine is definetly worth all of that hype. Beautiful Graphics, awesome controll and gameplay, Miyamato I thank you for such a great job on such an awesome series........... SUPER MARIO!!!!!!

Mario returns at his best

5 Rating: 5, Useful: 3 / 3
Date: October 03, 2002
Author: Amazon User

Do not be dismayed by the seemingly 'hippie'-like environmentally sound premise of the new Mario installment -- the only tree-hugging in this game occurs when you scale one of the many towering trees to better view the breathtaking landscape before you. Mario Sunshine's gaming environment can accurately be described in one word: staggering. From neck-straining roller coasters that would shame Six Flags, to underwater oceanic worlds worthy of a Discovery channel special, Mario's new adventure is a orgiastic feast for the eyes at every turn.

His adventure is no less satisfying. His new ability, the water jet-pack/nozzle gizmo, at first made me skeptical of the game, but upon picking up the FLUDD, one realizes the infinite range of motion and dimension it adds to the game. Mario can suddenly hover, attack in 360 degrees, backflip with a powerful frontal attack, and not to mention... annoy his friends by gratuitously squirting them in the face. He'll need all of those strategies and more as he faces his largest set of challenges yet: From battling gigantic elastic squid, to exterminating dozens of ghastly ghosts on a haunted beach, to hunting down your own shadowy clone (or so it would seem...), Mario faces task after task of the weirdest of the weird. And even after he's beaten the game, that represents just about half of the goals to be reached in the game, with tons of hidden missions and extra-difficult bonus missions. The replay value here is unmatched by any previous Mario game.

And, old-schoolers need not fear, there's plenty in this game for you as well. For any fans of the older platform-based puzzles that defined very early Mario's and even the last installment for the N64, you will be amazed and alternately befuddled by the "secret" missions embedded in your quest. Complete with 3-D rotating, bouncing and our old favorite VANISHING blocks, Mario will often find himself stripped of his new FLUDD device, facing infinitely complex platform puzzles to navigate with just his jumping abilities (which of course include wall-kicks, backflips, twirls and triple jumps). These unexpected throwbacks with their new amazingly difficult incarnations will leave you constantly changing your camera angle as you fight to balance yourself on a rotating beam or hang on just long enough to the dissolving blocks to see your goal narrowly escape you.

With so much to do and such a brilliantly constructed world to view it in, Mario Sunshine provides endless hours of fun and amazement for any video gamer. Without a doubt, if you own a GameCube, you MUST own this game.

Feel like having a blast for hours?

5 Rating: 5, Useful: 3 / 3
Date: September 02, 2004
Author: Amazon User

Buy this game, pop it in, and you'll find yourself having a blast for hours on end! Mario has been wrongfully accused of vandalizing Isle Delfino, and he is now on a mission to clean up the place and find the imposter that did it. In case that incentive wasn't enough, he's also trying to free the princess from the evil clutches of this mysterious look alike vandal. The princess is hot! There are several different perfectly challenging and exciting levels where Mario attempts to collect all the Shine Sprites that return Isle Delfino back to its original beautiful condition. Who would have thought that this would turn out to be one of the most enjoyable ways to spend your free time? Certainly not me. I also asked my friend Sanchez, and he didn't think so either.

Review Page: Previous 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next